December 5, 2008

Holidailies 2008 – Day 1

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 11:16 pm by Jenn

Well, it’s day one and I already managed to almost screw this up!  It is 11:03pm here in Baku, Azerbaijan and I had just hunkered in with my knitting, and a movie when I remembered…I hadn’t posted today.  So I did what any good Holidailies participant would have done, I crawled out of bed, sat down and the computer and here I am, posting.

Today was a day not much different than an other day in Baku…pretty dull, with the exception of the Embassy’s Holiday party this afternoon at the Ambassador’s house.  It was a good event, well organized, Santa didn’t get trampled to death by the rush of children anxious for their gifts.  Several children did “cut” in line in front of other children, but our “crowd control” elves did a wonderful job of keeping everything, everyone in their places.

There were cookie decorating stations, ornament making stations, a piano player with a vocalist singing Christmas carols and glutwine.  The glutwine was perfect because it was a little chilly later in the afternoon.

I’ve had a throbbing headache all day long, one that I can’t shake.  I’m convinced it’s the weather.  The air is thick today…thick and polluted.  No matter how much Sudafed or Excedrin I take I just can’t get rid of this headache, so now I’m going to do the only thing that I know that will make the pain go away….knit, then sleep.  I’ll knit til my eyes start watering because my head hurts so bad and then I’ll take myself a nice 8-10 hour nap.

Scott is feeling guilty I think about not getting me out of Baku for the long weekend.  All of our friends are going somewhere…to one of the regions…just to get away.  We are staying put, dog sitting.  No real plans.  He asked if I wanted to go to the Airport Bazaar, and if tomorrow were a weekday I would gladly accept.  Tomorrow is a weekend however and I can only imagine that the Airport Bazaar is like a flea market free for all.  No thank you, I’ll pass.  His next offer was the Mud Volcanoes…we’ve been, but I’ve been wanting to go back.  There’s a cache there that we need to find and log.  If it’s a nice day maybe we’ll do that.

So there you have it.  My first of 30 Holidailies 2008 posts.  Goodnight.

7 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    What is the long weekend? Is it because of the holiday party?
    A front coming in here and cold-everyone is sick-I am going to take a nap before dinner.

  2. Carol Czina said,

    Ihope that headache goes away soon so you can do something fun. Take care. Oh, and I like the new look on your blog. Festive.

  3. Heather said,

    Hope the headache goes away. Good luck finding the cache! I signed up for Holidalies (at Home) yesterday after reading your blog. I’ve been meaning to write (blog) more!

    :O)

  4. we’re having a long weekend, too. and then wednesday of next week is a national holiday. hope your headache goes away soon!

  5. Jennifer said,

    This is all very interesting. How long have you been in Baku, Azerbaijan? Thanks for stoping by.

  6. sjsmart said,

    We’ve been in Azerbaijan since May 2008. Hopefully only here a little while longer and then on to greener pastures…maybe Germany. We’ll see what cards we are dealt.

  7. bonnie said,

    I did goof the first Holidailies. My back wouldn’t let me sit so I guess it is legit anyway. 🙂

    I block pollutants with a prescription Flonase when I have to.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

