December 8, 2008

Holiday Meme

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 6:46 pm by Jenn

While blog surfing the other day I came across this holiday meme.  The meme was on a blog called Between Loads of Laundry.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE the blog design and am considering contacting the designerfor some bling for my blog.  I love bling!  Anyway, back to the meme, if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged!

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags?  I use a combination of both.  Usually coordinated wrapping paper, but the past few years we’ve just been using up the stuff that we brought with us. 

2. Real tree or Artificial? Artificial while overseas

3. When do you put up the tree?  Thanksgiving weekend

4. When do you take the tree down? After January 7th

5. Do you like eggnog?  LOVE IT!  Homemade or Larry Collins style only.

6. Favorite gift received as a child? Stereo, in spite of the fact that I’m scarred for life because I first opened a fire log…just knowing it was my stereo…everyone had a real big laugh over that one.

7. Hardest person to buy for?  My dad.  Although this year my sister had a BRILLIANT idea and was gracious enough to let me tag along.  Somehow a Larry the Cable guy DVD just wasn’t enough…LOL

8. Easiest person to buy for?  My mom.  She’s a mom, easy to please.  Of course my husband is easy to buy for too.  He starts giving hints oh, around December 26th.

9. Do you have a nativity scene? Yes a cheap little dollar store one.  I didnt’ put it up this year though.  Our apartment just isn’t set up right and we don’t have enough furniture for everything to be displayed on.

10. Mail or email Christmas cards? Mail of course!

11.Worst Christmas gift you ever received?  I don’t know that I’ve every really received a worst Christmas present although my husband did give me an ornament last year that still makes me question what the hell he was thinking…

12. Favorite Christmas Movie? Sound of Music, A Christmas Story, Miracle on 34th Street and It’s a Wonderful Life…all of them… 

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? usually? I do a little all year long.  I’ve already purchased a few for next year too.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? Honestly, no.

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Chex Mix and Buckeyes

16. Favorite Christmas songs? Away in a Manger, Silent Night

17. Travel at Christmas or stay home? It depends.  The past two years we’ve stayed home because we’ve been overseas and travel is too expensive.  When in the States we have been alternating between families.

18. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? One present Christmas Eve and the rest Christmas Day.

19. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?  People who do their best to bring you down. 

20. Favorite ornament theme or color?  I love childhood ornaments and also blue and white….I love having two trees, one artificial with the blue and white ornaments and all white lights and fancy blue/white/silver packages underneath…and one real with multicolored lights, the childhood ornaments and real presents.  This is the Santa Claus tree.

21. What do you want for Christmas this year? Wii Fit and stuff to start spinning.

22. If you don’t celebrate Christmas, what holiday do you celebrate.  Please share your traditions.  Comment on this blog for all to see.

5 Comments »

  1. Jac said,

    Ooo!! Loving the Christmas Questions 🙂

    I would KILL for a Wii fit for Christmas! (Of course, I’d also need the Wii… but those are both HIGH on my list!)

  2. sjsmart said,

    Hopefully Santa will be good to you this year! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Jen D said,

    So how is the Larry Collins style eggnog made? I must know 😉

  4. Mom said,

    We need to make sure that our Wii works on the living room TV> Dad says no way to putting it downstairs. You know how old that TV is. But it will still work throught the cable box I think.

  5. sjsmart said,

    Jen – Larry is in my Facebook friends…send him a message…maybe he’ll share, or better yet, join us for FPC (front porch cocktails) in 2010 to taste for yourself.


Leave a Reply

