December 10, 2008

Commerical Punishment

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 9:50 pm by Jenn

One of the things I am thankful for in my day to day life overseas is AFN (Armed Forces Network).  Thanks to AFN I’m able to keep up with many of my favorite shows from back in the States such as Survivor, General Hospital, CSI, Deal or No Deal, Oprah, etc. 

One of the things I can’t stand in my day to day life overseas…the AFN commercials.  They stink.  Actually they are worse than stinky, but my mom is probably reading this post and it is the holiday season so I will refrain.

I will however share a few of these commercials with you so that you can judge for yourself.  I’ve put together this list of those that really drive me crazy. 

Never Shake Your Baby–  This one thankfully isn’t being aired right now, but it was aired.  Everyday.  Several times a day.  When we lived in Belarus.  Along with this I have to give a shout out to the Detwiler’s – Keith, and Michelle – we had some pretty good laughs over this commercial.  Mostly over their daughter’s question to them about whether or not they shook her when she was a baby….PRICELESS! 

Hercules – Power of Attorney –  I feel like I want to fleece someone…whoever it is that puts this crap in to the line up 10 times a day. 

Don’t Pass Gas – now this…this I could watch over and over again.  You’ve gotta love body humor.

Family Housing – crap, pure crap.

OPSEC  – this is just one of many OPSEC gems involving these poor animals.  The animals are now retired and we’ve got one that’s even worse.  Unfortunately, that one hasn’t been put up on YouTube for me to share with you yet…but I’ll keep an eye out for you.

There are others, MANY others and trust me they are all just as horrible.  I’d rather listen to the test pattern tone than suffer through one more round of these commercials. 

I mean really, would it be so bad to let us see a Doritios commercial now and then?  Why can’t AFN have sponsors?  We don’t even get the half-time commericals which totally takes all the fun out of watching the Super Bowl.

1 Comment »

  1. Jen D said,

    Hercules…hm. Strange.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

