December 10, 2008

Movie reviews

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 9:49 pm by Jenn

I will give each movie a ranking based on a scale of 1-5, the highest being 5 Stilettos.

Last night I finally saw Horton Hears a Who.  I loved it!  That was one of my favorite books as a child (next to Yertle the Turtle of course).  I kind of forgot all about the movie until I saw it at the knock off place yesterday.  Last night around 9pm I crawled in to bed (with no knitting so I could focus on the movie) and I finally watched the movie.  It wasn’t as Jim Careyish as I thought it would be and that was disappointing.  My favorite line from the movie, “I said what I said, and I said what I meant, an elephant’s faithful 100 percent%”.   Scott crawled in to bed about 2 minutes before the movie ended and wanted to know what was going on.  I ignored him completely of course until the credits…then I just repeated that line over and over again…just enough to drive him crazy.  : )

I give Horton 4 Stilettos.

Today I finally saw Twilight.  The book is SO much better than the movie.  I was disappointed.  I still watched it and hung on every word though.  I think the casting could have been much better.  I didn’t like the guy they chose as Jacob (Taylor Lautner), but in all honesty maybe it was the hair.  I didn’t like Jasper at all (Jackson Rathbone) and Rosalie (Nikki Reed) was not at all what I pictured from the description of her in the book.  I think Pattinson as Edward was a good choice, as were Alice, Carlisle and Esme (Ashley Greene, Peter Facinelli and Elizabeth Reaser).  Bella (Kristen Stewart) I’m undecided about.  I think parts were played very well and others were just awful, but I think that about Edwards role too…

I can’t decide if this is a problem with casting, direction, budget or what – maybe a combination of all three.  I do know that I will watch the second movie to compare.  As I understand it they are looking for a new director and I’m sure the budget will be greatly increased since this first movie did so well at the box office.

I think that overall this movie did a pretty good job of following the book, but it was lacking, somehow putting it on screen lost something for me. 

I don’t see how or why people are comparing this movie to the Harry Potter films, there just absolutely is no comparison.  I think a lot of Potter fans were drawn to this movie because of the Pattison connection, but to compare the films would be like comparing apples to a pile of dog poo. 

I give Twilight 3 Stilettos.

I’ll continue to review the movies I watch each week.  Comments are welcome.

1 Comment »

  1. coffee said,

    i wonder what will be more successful/popular in the long run, Twilight or Harry Potter

    I think Harry Potter in the long run will be more successful. I think the series will withstand the test of time and be a classic for generations. Twilight on the other hand while I do enjoy it, it doesn’t have as widespread of a reach as far as audience as Harry Potter. The Twilight series is just a good love story.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

