December 15, 2008

First Snow of the Season

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 9:33 pm by Jenn

persimmon

This morning when I got up to give Max his “go back to sleep biscuit” I noticed it was a little different looking outside…it looked brighter even though it was only 7 ish a.m.  That’s when it hit me…SNOW.  Sure enough, Baku had it’s first snow of the season last night.  It was still flurrying this morning.  I took a few pictures, but of course since my computer was fixed last week I can’t get the pictures to upload from my camera.  Thankfully, a friend took some pictures and posted them on his Facebook page today and was so kind to give me permission to post a few them here.

roof-tops  A few local roof tops with the first snow.

flower  I think that this flower is one from the garden at the Marine’s house.  Their flower garden looked really great this summer.

basketball  The basketball in the yard at the Marine’s house.

bubble  I think this picture is pretty cool.  I’m not sure of the name of the lens, but it looks like a bubble of the city.  This is a view from the Marine’s house toward ours.  See the triangle (kind of) pointed building just off center to the right?  Well if you look to the left of that building one of those is the apartment that I live in.  It looks kind of far in this picture, but it really isn’t.  A few weeks ago I walked from the Marine’s neighborhood to my apartment in about 20 minutes.

So there you have it.  Snow in Baku and the pictures to prove it.  One of the driver’s told Scott that there is supposed to be a “big snow” tonight.  We’ll see.

Thanks for the pics Danny!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    The snow should make it look clean for a bit.

  2. Jessica said,

    I love those pictures. So beautiful!

  3. delia said,

    Thank you for posting these beautiful pictures of the first snow in my city that is so far away from me now. Delia
    P.S. It was snowing in New York a little bit this morning but did not stick to the ground.


Leave a Reply

