December 23, 2008

Back to School – Again

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 10:51 pm by Jenn

Blue Jays

 

Well now it’s really official.  I’ve registered for a class in Advanced Nutrition, set up a payment plan and now I’m in the process of trying to find a deal on the textbook. 

Why do college textbooks have to be so expensive?  Back in the day I paid $95 for a used copy of the book for my Purchasing , Contracting and Materials Management class.  I thought that was expensive.  The book for this class is a whopping $134…YIKES!  Of course the book I need is a new edition in 2008 and not the same Advanced Nutrition book that I already own.  Not that it makes a difference however because I elected not to bring any of my textbooks with me on this overseas tour – stupid me.  I only brought a few reference materials that I might need for private practice. 

I have been searching for deals and the cheapest I can come up with is $104.99 (including shipping).  I think I’m going to have to suck it up and just order the book.  I need to make sure it gets here in time for the start of the semester – January 20th!   

The college I chose is Saint Joseph College in West Hartford, CT.  They offer a Master’s in Nutrition that is 100% online.  Perfect for me.  This program is 30 credits and they award 6 credits for completing my Internship program…that means only 24 credits – that’s 8 classes for my Master’s.  With not being able to work in my field during these past two tours and not knowing what the future holds for our next post I figured if I want to be competitive when I return to the States, I’d better do something and the thing that made the most sense was to work on my Master’s.  It seems that is the direction the field is heading anyway.  I might as well get a jump on it.

As I’m writing this post, I’m wondering what the Saint Joseph College mascot is and thinking about all my school mascots over the years.  Here’s a run down:

Princeton Elementary – Tigers

James Madison Middle School – Cougars

Frederick Douglass High School – Eagles

Prince George’s Community College – Owls

University of Maryland – Terrapins

Saint Joseph College – Blue Jays

4 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Congratulations. That is quite a rundown of wildlife.

  2. Heather said,

    There’s a lot of fowl in those mascots!!!! I personally like the Terrapin best. I’m assuming my University of Phoenix was a phoenix. Shame that I don’t know, huh? Congrats, and best wishes on the master’s!

    :O)

  3. Kathie said,

    Welcome to SJC, Jenn! We’re glad to have you on board as a student! Next time you’re back in the states you will have to swing by our beautiful campus. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy your online classes with us – and coming in February – a new website!

    ~Kathie
    Web Site Coordinator
    Saint Joseph College
    West Hartford, CT

  4. Jen D said,

    Elyria High School- Pioneers
    Edinboro U. of PA.- Fighting Scotts

    You did better! Great job and best of luck to you! 🙂


Leave a Reply

