December 30, 2008

The Waiting Game

Posted in Journal at 7:27 pm by Jenn

Well it’s that time again.  Time to move.  We’ve gotten our possibilities, checked them all out, ranked them, discussed them with the powers that be, and now we wait…

This is the part that I hate, the waiting.  Well I hate the game part too, especially as it involves the next 18 months of my life, but that’s a story for after the cards have been dealt.

I’m excited about the posts that we are bidding on, mostly because they are VERY different than either Belarus or Azerbaijan.  I can’t list our options here but I can give you a few hints…that will at least give you an idea of what floats around in my head on a day to day basis.

I may or may not be living in Europe.

I may or may not be living in the Mediterranean.

I may or many not be living in South America.

Of course then too, there’s the always possible, I may be living in Azerbaijan…if this happens I will NOT be happy.  There’s an old saying…you’ve probably heard it.  You can take the girl out of PG County, but you can’t take “the County” out of the girl.  If it happens I may just have to open a can of PG County up on someone (First Sgt. if you are reading this smile).

That’s why this is all a game.  No matter what we say we want, no matter how much we (I)need a break, it’s all up to someone else.  So we wait…patiently, hoping and praying that someone out there has our back (gratuitous suck up to the First Sgt).

Wish us luck.

9 Comments »

  1. break a leg… er, um – i mean good luck. hope your wishes come true!!

    Thanks Monica! Look, I finally figured out how to add a comment directly to you. It’s only been a little over a year.

  2. Jen D said,

    Hope someone makes a good decision for you! Any idea how long this decision will take? Fingers crossed!!

    Hopefully we’ll know something by mid January….maybe.

  3. Jen Hann said,

    Good luck!

    Thanks Jen.

  4. Mom said,

    We are hoping for a great place to visit!!!Does that seem selfish on our part????We are patiently waiting.

    Totally selfish….but at least now I know where I get it.

  5. Eva said,

    Good luck! We’re hoping for a dog-friendly place with excellent veterinary care. More Max trauma may very well lead to an international incident, and I don’t think anybody’s looking for that.

    Dog friendly with excellent veterinary care would definitely be a plus.

  6. Ruth said,

    Good luck!! I can’t believe the time has come for a new post already. My wish is that your new country has great doctors should Max need them! (Oh, and great doctors for you & Scott, too!) 🙂

    Thanks Ruth! We wish the same!

  7. Heather said,

    Waiting is a bit of a drag, but they all seem to be exciting places! Which has the best weather in December?????

    :O)

    There are some warm December places and some cold December places so it depends what your idea of best weather is…. : )

  8. Would it be possible for you to go to England? That would be cool from a selfish point of view for me reading about you exploring my home country. But you could get decent vets, plenty of wool (yarn) shops, decent doctors and some American foods easier (forget burgers). Whereever you go I look forward to reading about it.

    No England on the list, but it may be possible for me to visit there from one of the choices!

  9. Angie said,

    My goodness, you guys have to move A LOT. It seems like you hardly settled down where you are now and already you’re talking about moving again. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you.

    All this moving has been very unsettling. We were only supposed to move every 18 months, but the Belarus situation threw a wrench in to that plan so we actually will have 3 posts instead of 2 out of this 3 year deal. Once we are off of this program we’ll be back to a move every 3 years. Thanks for the crossed fingers!


Leave a Reply

