January 1, 2009

It’s a New Year!

Posted in Journal at 7:46 pm by Jenn

It’s finally here!  2009!  Woo, hoo!  I have a lot to look forward to this coming year.  School starting, moving to a new place, hopefully a visit back to the States…

I’ve also got a list of UFO’s that I just simply must complete.  Here they are in no particular order.

1.  The Baby Surprise Jacket that I’m making for Kate – It’s almost finished.  Really it is.  About 80% finished.  I only have 20 more rows…but then I have to sew in all those dreaded ends.  WHY did I think it would be a good idea to make this a striped sweater?  WHY did I think it would be a good idea to use 4 colors?  WHY? WHY? WHY?  Everytime I look at the thing I just cringe.  It’s cute enough, but it reminds me of the biblical story, “Joseph and the Coat of many Colors”.  They really aren’t even girl colors.  I’ve considered not giving it, but it will look cute on a little girl even if the colors look like a Washington Redskin threw up a Philadelphia Eagle…yep, burgundy, gold, green and black.  Not quite sure what I was thinking there.  I really need to finish it and get it in the mail, it’s supposed to be a Christmas package.

2.  My Clapotis and my Clementine Shawlette.   This is quiet knitting.  I’ve mentioned before that I can’t work on these projects when Scott’s around…I have to concentrate and he talks TOO MUCH.

3.  My second Slytherin Sock – I think I might take this to Germany with me.  A good portable project.

4.  Unorignial Hat – I started this using size 7 needles.  I am about 15 rows into it and I really think it’s going to be too small.  I’ve ordered a set of 14 sizes of double pointed needles so I think I’ll just wait until the needles come in, frog and restart.

5.  Belarus bag – I started this bag when I was in Belarus, the bag is actually complete with the exception of adding the handles and sewing in the liner.  I don’t know how to do either thing and it is intimidating me.  I just need to suck it up and do it I suppose.

6.  Carey’s sock – I have one complete (see the pattern).  The second one will get finished.  Really it will.  I haven’t been in too big of a hurry though.  Carey moved to St. Thomas to work for a year so I figured I’d have a little bit of time.  That was about a year ago….LOL.  Really Carey, I’ll finish it this year for sure.

7.  My Palindrome Scarf – this I will finish because I love the yarn and the pattern.  It just got pushed to the side to get the Christmas knitting out of the way.

Other things I’d like to try tackle this year (that I wanted to attempt last year and didn’t get around to) are two socks at a time, and mittens.  I don’t think with school and moving that I’ll be doing any swaps for a while so my free time can be “me knit” time to hopefully finish up some of these things. 

I also have that new found spinning habit so I think I’ll be spinning up lots of yummy yarn which means that I’ll be purchasing lots of fiber in 2009. 

Scott also informed me earlier this week that he and one of the drivers were talking about me spinning yarn and the driver mentioned that they sell “spinning machines” here….WHAT?  WHERE? 

FIELD TRIP!

By the way, did I mention that it’s been snowing here for 3 days.  Yep, count ’em….3.  Tomorrow I’m hoping the wind starts blowing for a short time so that I can actually walk outside and take a few decent pictures.  It really has been quite pretty…and quiet.  The cars here really aren’t able to get around in the snow so there hasn’t been the constant honking of the horns that I usually here ALL DAY LONG!  Happy New Year to ME!

7 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    Ooh – are the spinning machines spinning wheels, or electric spinners??? That would be a great field trip!

    Are you knitting the Unoriginal with the handspun I sent? I’ve wanted to try that hat for a while now, but never seem to get around to it!

    Glad you have snow to pretty up your city. Wish we had some! Maybe Sunday night, so school is delayed/closed!!!!!

    :O)

    Not sure what the spinning machines are, but I intened to find out ASAP for sure! I haven’t decided what I’m going to make with the handspun. I’m thinking about the hat and maybe matching mittens if I have enough yarn. I have to plan this out very carefully!

    The snow has been nice. I think we got about 4-6 inches in some places.

  2. spinning machines! they sell them!! run, don’t walk!! remember the old mervyn’s commercials, the “open, open, open” with the lady at the window ones? that could be you at the spinning machine shop!

    As soon as the driver who told Scott about it is on days again I’m having a field trip. I’ll keep you posted.

  3. A very happy and healthy New Year to you and yours. Hope it full of love, happiness, great yarn projects and good health!

    Thanks Polly (Clare)! The same to you and yours.

  4. Jen D said,

    Happy New Year Jenn! Sounds like you’ve got a few goals set for 2009-best to you! It will be exciting!~

    Thanks Jen! Stay tuned.

  5. Mom said,

    You have a nice suply of UFO’s. I have wound my beautiful yarn and am trying to decide what to do with it. Maybe a triangular shawl that would double as a scarf? the spinning machine sounds interesting-keep us posted.

    Multipurpose is good! I’ll keep you posted about the “spinning machine”. Lord only knows what I’ll find, but with all the sheep in this country it only makes sense that they do something with the wool. I couldn’t imagine that it all went to waste.

  6. Angie said,

    Nice knitting list. Where are the pictures? 😉

    I’m experiencing tecnical difficulties…but I will post pictures soon!

  7. […] sjsmart @ 9:30 pm Tags: knit, life, mousehunt, UFO I’ve made a little progress in the UFO department (unfinished object’s), and by little I mean little.  I finished the sweater for baby Kate.  […]


Leave a Reply

