January 5, 2009

Out of Eggs

Posted in Journal at 4:28 pm by Jenn

I made a ham for dinner on Friday and as I was cleaning up I thought that a bean soup sounded good so right then put some beans to soak.  I started the beans on high in the crock pot around 10am on Saturday and by 7pm they still weren’t ready to eat.  BUMMER!  Pizza for dinner.  No problem.  We’ll just eat the beans on Sunday.

Today I started the beans on the stove, on low around 1 and they were boiling and ready to eat within a few hours.  We decided to eat around 6 and around 5:30 I decided to start the cornbread.  That’s when I realized I was out of eggs.  If it were light outside (or warm), no problem, I’d just run right over to the market and pick some up.  But it wasn’t light outside, it was dark and cold and kind of icy so I was mad.  Then I thought…I wonder if I can substitute something for eggs in a recipe?  I’m sure I can…so I did what I always do…I googled it and sure enough you can substitute all kinds of things for eggs.  These ideas came from Pioneerthinking.com

  • 2 tbsp cornstarch = 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot flour = 1 egg
  • 2 tbsp potato starch = 1 egg
  • 1 heaping tbsp soy powder + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp soy milk powder + 1 tbsp cornstarch + 2 tbsp water = 1 egg
  • 1 banana = 1 egg in cakes
  • 1 tbsp milled flax seed and 3 tbsp water = 1 egg. Light, fluffy cakes
  • Milled Flaxseed?  As a substitute for eggs?  Ok, I’ll bite.  I just so happened to have some milled flaxseed in my pantry and I’m in the “use it up phase” so why not.  I probably need a few extra Omega 3’s anyway.

    Now here’s where my planned failed me. 

    I asked Scott to watch the cornbread and take it out of the oven if it was finished before I got out of the shower.  I set the timer and off I went.  I’m sure I wasn’t in there for 25 minutes.  When I came out to the kitchen he said he had taken the cornbread out “a long time ago”.  Now, most of you don’t know my husband, but he speaks a language that sounds a lot like English, but it’s difficult to interpret.  I asked if the timer went off and he said, “No, I could smell it”…ok.  There was a toothpick in the cornbread so I figured that he at least remembered what I taught him about checking things with toothpicks…

    Needless to say, I have no idea how long the cornbread was in the oven, but it definitely wasn’t finished.  It was a little gooey in places.  The outside edges were done so I ate that (Scott ate all of his with no complaints) and it was pretty good.  It tasted like cornbread.  The texture was a little different but not bad.  I’ll make it again but next time, I’ll be in charge of the entire baking process.  I don’t know what I was thinking.

    1 Comment »

    1. Jen D said,

      I know Betty Crocker/Better Homes and Gardens cookbooks have substitutions pages but sounds like google’s a better idea. Interesting! I’m always out of something…but I don’t just happen to have milled flaxseed in my pantry. Banana…yes.

      I checked my Betty Crocker but she didn’t have anything in there for eggs. I usually go to them first, then google.


    Leave a Reply

