January 5, 2009

Random

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 4:47 pm by Jenn

Baku is often called the windy city and today is a perfect example of why.  I am sitting in my office and I can hear the wind whipping around outside.  These apartments are not “air tight” so it’s a bit cold and drafty in here.  I was dreading heading out to the store and desperately thinking of ways to avoid heading out in to the wind, but somehow I don’t think the egg substitution would work so well in Mrs. Nixon’s Chicken Casserole so I braved it.  By the way, my recipe doesn’t say let stand overnight…

Thankfully on my way to the market there was a tail wind.  I was there in no time.  I mean, I literally was pushed all the way to the store.  I almost lost my footing a few times when the “gusts” came.  The wind is crazy here.  According to the Weather Underground it’s blowing at 44 km an hour which is about 28 miles an hour…steady, I don’t even know what they are gusting to, but it’s a lot higher than that.  Unfortunately since the winds pushed me there the return trip was a little harder.  Thankfully everything here is still snow and/or wet so I didn’t have debris blowing into my eyes (I forgot my glasses).

I’m still playing Mousehunt (Apprentice 11% now – that’s level 2).  In fact, it may be time for an intervention.  I burned hard boiled eggs today.  Yep, you read that correctly…hard boiled eggs.  I put them on to boil and the next thing you know I smell hard boiled eggs…hmm, OH SHIT!  Yep, I’m hooked.  Needless to say, I haven’t been doing much of anything else.  I am working on finishing up that baby surprise jacket today though.  I’m down to 5 more rows so it looks promising!  Maybe I’ll even be able to post some pictures!

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    You must be like Grammy, She would put the coffee on the stove(old percolator type) and go to weed the garden!!!!

    I could not believe I did that. Those eggs were cooking A LONG TIME!

  2. Heather said,

    This is why I didn’t look into that game – it takes a long time to burn hard boiled eggs!!!!

    I started my co-workers BSJ last night and plan to knit on it tonight through THE BACHELOR!~!!!!! OMG – I can’t wait. I’m such a geek stuck on love!

    :O)

    We aren’t getting the Bachelor here on AFN. I’m going to have to watch it through Youtube or another source. I’m bummed that Jessie and DeAnna didn’t work out. I was routing for him, but Jason was definitely a good guy too! Hopefully he’ll find love this time and from what I’ve seen it may be with her…DeAnna.

    Oh come on, try the mice game. Mom does most of the cooking anyway!

  3. Jen D said,

    Yeah, I’m with your sister-I’m not going to get into that game either…sounds dangerous 😉 I am looking forward to seeing pics of the BSJ-I can’t believe how many knitting projects you have going at the same time LOL!

    Try it you’ll like it…the game, and knitting. I’ll post pictures of the BSJ along with Germany pics when I get back in town.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

