Back to Baku

We’re back from vacation.  Germany was beautiful as always.  We spent a day in Munich and the rest of the time in Garmisch.  We were anxiously awaiting news about our next post, the news came and we were less than thrilled. 

It seems that the whole, submit your top 3 choices routine didn’t really make a difference when it came to us.  We didn’t get any of our top choices, in fact, we didn’t get a choice at all.  We got assigned to a country that I was not remotely interested in living in due to gang violence and murder statistics.  Needless to say this news kind of put a damper on the vacation, not totally though.  It could have been worse, we could have gotten the news while we were actually in Baku.

Anyway, what it boils down to is that, I said I would not move to that country and so at least for now we’ll be staying in Baku a little longer than anticipated and HOPEFULLY moving when the next group rotates, and I now know that I will not be living in Luxembourg, Ecuador or Brazil in 2009.  BUMMER.

As for vacation, I do have some wonderful pictures and some stories to post about.  I’ll work on that tomorrow.  For now I’m working on getting Christmas decorations put away, unpacking and wishing I’d bought more meat in Germany!

Published by Jenn

Registered Dietitian with an interest in integrative nutrition, functional food and holistic healing.

3 thoughts on “Back to Baku

  1. Sorry the posting didn’t work out as planned 😦 So this means you’ll be in Baku through March? Just think of all the knitting you can get done! And hey, leaving in March would have sucked because you wouldn’t get the benefit of … spring!

    Looks like we will be here through spring, but even that is still up in the air. This whole thing has been discouraging and I’ve lost all faith in “the system”. There are a few things that I’d like to do in warmer weather though so I’ll be looking forward to those things….and more knitting of course. : )

  2. Sorry to hear it Jen, but I know you will make the most of where ever it is you end up 🙂 You’ve become the master of making lemonade-keep up the good work my friend 🙂

    I am GREAT at making lemonade, unfortunately, I’m also TIRED of making lemonade.

  3. Now I am burning with curiosity to what country they did try and assign you to.. hmm.

    Anyway I am sorry it did not work out this time. I am keeping my fingers crossed for next.

    I think we need all the fingers and toes that we can get! Thanks for thinking of us.

Leave a comment

Sunkissed Wellness

Because wellness isn't a destination it's a journey.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Alaska Exploring Studies

While also exploring faith, family, and fitness as Maria enjoys her coffee...

Mommy Usage

"She Believed She Could So She Did"

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.