January 22, 2009

Carpet

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 6:28 pm by Jenn

Today one of the women from the embassy hosted a carpet show.  A local carpet vendor came to her house with about 15 carpets new and old and displayed them for us with the hopes of making some sales.  This isn’t the first carpet show he’s done for us.  I’ve been to two others and liked a lot of the carpets that I saw, but none enough to buy…until today.

Today I actually saw 4 carpets that I was interested in.  Now I don’t know if it’s because I’ll be leaving here soon that I was so ready to buy a carpet or if it’s because it’s winter and the floors are so cold here.  Either way, I ended up purchasing one carpet and one mule/horse bag.

The mule/horse bags are really neat.  They are made of woven wool, and hang across the mule/horse.  They have a large pocket on each side for storing whatever needs storing when you are riding a mule/horse.  I haven’t been doing much mule/horse riding these days, but they sure are neat to hang on a wall or over a staircase railing, chair, etc.

Here’s a picture.  Right now I have it laid across a table as a runner, but the pictures show it draped over a chair so that you can really get a look at the pattern and colors.

carpet-0052

carpet-0061

This is a picture of the carpet.  Max claimed it for his own right away, but I had other plans for it.  This rug is a Zili which means it is pileless (not plush).  I love the pattern.  It kind of looks like a patriotic design in red, white and blue at first glance.  It even looks like it has dollar signs.  When you look more closely you see that it is people and animals, I’m assuming some sort of hunting scene.

carpet-004

Here’s a closer view of the pattern:

carpet-007

carpet-009

The carpet is roughly 4 feet wide by 6 feet long (give or take a few inches in each direction).  It’s the perfect size for an  area rug.  (Mom – the amaryllis that you sent bloomed while we were on vacation.  When we got home the 3rd blossom was just starting to wither.  It looks pretty sad now, but I’m sure it was really pretty when all the blossoms were out.  I’m bummed that I missed it!).

In other news I finished my Unoriginal Hat  last night.  Unfortunately, it was WAY too small.  I did manage to gift it to a woman from the embassy who has a 4 month (or so) old little baby girl.  She was really appreciative, but boy was I disappointed that it didn’t fit.  It was SOOO cute.  I started this hat once before and ripped it out because there was no way it was going to fit.  I switched from size 7 to size 10 needles and it was STILL too small.  I’m going to make another one, hopefully in the right size this time.  I need to do some research on gauge and actually maybe make a swatch this time…wish me luck.

Here’s a picture of the finished hat.

carpet-002

6 Comments »

  1. Eva said,

    Excellent carpet selection (adorable model, too!). I’m a big fan of rugs from that part of the world, and I’ve never seen anything like that. Very unusual, lots of detail for a kilim — I really like the angular composition of the birds.

    This actually isn’t a kilim – though he had one of those too and I loved it, someone else loved it before I did….he’s on the lookout for me. This is a Zili and it differs from a Kilim in that while it is called a pileless carpet it actually does have a little “fur” on the topside where a kilim is the same feel/fiber texture on both sides…does that make sense? And you are right about the pattern, the kilim’s (all 4 of them) that I’ve seen don’t have as much detail.

  2. Jessica said,

    Beautiful carpet! And great hat as well.

    Thanks for the needles. I can’t wait to start my fingerless mittens so I can have warm hands at work!

    Thanks, and good luck with your project.

  3. Dear Jenn, thank you very much for writing about Azerbaijan and visiting my blog!

    Best wishes,

    Ayten

    Thank you Ayten!

  4. Dear Jenn, I also wanted to invite you to my group in facebook called Azerbaijan on Internet but couldn’t figure out your email address…

    I will find your group on Facebook.

  5. Jen D said,

    The hat was cute, you were right! My MIL showed me her knitting needles that looked like rockets…huge plastic white ones with red tips. I never laughed so hard. How do you knit w/needles that big?

    LOL! Big needles are actually fun. You can do a lot of fun projects quickly with big needles and thick yarn!

  6. Heather said,

    Great hat!!!!

    It is cute. I think I’m going to try adding a pattern repeat with the same size needles…I think that should do it!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

