February 1, 2009

Movie Reviews

Posted in Journal at 1:22 pm by Jenn

This weekend I watched two really great movies.  Two of the best movies I’ve seen in a LONG TIME.

The first movie Seven Pounds, starred Will Smith.  I had no idea what the movie was about, I saw Will Smith on the movie jacket and that was what I based my decision to watch the movie on.  Will Smith has really surprised me as an actor.  I mean, really, give credit where credit is due.  He’s come a long way since the Fresh Prince.  Anyway, back to Seven Pounds.  It took me a little while to figure out what was going on, there’s a lot going on in this movie.  ALOT, and it wasn’t til his brother showed up later in the movie that I really “got it”.  Even though I had figured it out by the end, I was not expecting the ending and it was a total sobbing cryfest.So, was this the best movie EVER made (this guy, obviously doesn’t think so), probably not.  Was it the worst movie ever made, probably not, but what it is, is a movie that gives hope that there are people out there who are good, who do good and don’t only think of themselves.  We need more Ben’s in this world, ok correction…Tim’s.

The second movie Slumdog Millionaire….I have one word.  WOW!  What an amazing story.  It’s no wonder that this movie received 10 Oscar nominations.  It’s brilliant.  It did make me cringe a couple of times, but for that I’ll give it an A for effort…it worked.  If you haven’t seen this movie yet, do yourself a favor and see it.  It’s the story of Jamal, an orphan from Mumbai and his brother Salim.  They have quite a life these two.  Jamal winds up on the Indian version of Who Wants to be a Millionaire.  The story we see is the result of his reflection of how he knows the answers to the game show’s questions…which unfortunately he as to prove to the authorities because he is suspected of cheating. 

I have several other movies in the queue including Changeling , Revolutionary Road, Marley and Me (hopefully today), The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, The Reader, Milk, and Frost/Nixon, oh, and W.  Since he’s no longer in office I’ll go ahead and watch it.

2 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Marley and Me will make you shed a tear or two!!

    I did cry, but not nearly as hard as I did when I read the book.

  2. Jen D said,

    I have heard MORE people say they saw Slumdog Millionaire and LOVE it. I am really going to have to get out and see this one.

    You’ll like it….A lot.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

