February 10, 2009

Art Gallery Day

Posted in Journal at 7:44 pm by Jenn

 

Today I spent the early part of the day visiting a local artist and an art gallery.  This was arranged by the CLO office at the Embassy.

Our first stop was to the studio of the local artist Yusif Mirza.  Mr. Mirza is a very talented artist.  He was born in the Lachin district of Azerbaijan.  He works with various materials including, pastel, ink, water color and oils.  I was most impressed with his work in pastel.  There were several pieces, unframed that I would love to have, but they were a little out of my price range.  Me, being me had the brilliant idea to ask if he would do a couple of smaller pastels for me.  He agreed, so soon I will be the proud owner of two Yusif Mirza originals one 14cm square and the other 15cm x 8cm.  I left a deposit and my phone number and I can’t wait to hear from him.  I can’t wait to see them and hopefully I’ll be able to have them framed here in Baku before I leave….framing is SO MUCH CHEAPER here than in the States.

Click here to sample his work.  Unfortunately, none of these represent the style that he is doing for me.  I’ll be sure to post pictures when I pick them up.

The second stop was at the Virtu-Art Gallery.  This was probably some of the most creative art I’ve ever seen.  It was done in crude oil. Yep, crude oil, the artist is Sabir Chopuroghlu.   Make sure to click the link above to take you to the gallery so that you can see for yourself.  I loved so many of the pieces it was hard for me to choose (I’m leaning toward the one at the top of this post).  I want to take Scott back with me so that we can choose a piece together.  I’ve also inquired about the possibility of having a crude oil done in a smaller version.  For some reason I like smaller paintings.  I like to group them together, but I just think you get more bang for your buck with the smaller pieces, and you have more of a story to tell that way.

My friend Mary Kay has this piece and I love, love, love it.  The price is a little too rich for my blood, but I think the one I’ve chosen is similar enough, and at the same time very different…does that make sense?

 

So, it was a good day of art seeing.  Not too much money left my hands, but I know that won’t be the case for long.  How can I leave Baku, where all this oil is produced and not have a painting done in oil?  Duh!

6 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    I am anxious to see the paintings that you will have. These are really beautiful.

    I think you’ll like everything. The best part is that they’ll all have a story.

  2. Jen D said,

    I am a fan. I looked at the examples of his work and it’s very interesting. I love the colors and his style. So cool!

    Yusif and the crude oil artist are both awesome. I can’t wait to get home and hang everything on brand new American walls!

  3. monica said,

    those are lovely. I agree, you must have one.

    Yes, I must.

  4. Jessica said,

    Wow … I love the one in crude oil. That’s such a unique piece and obviously very fitting for Baku. I’m definitely going to have to swing by there sometime soon.

    Let me know if you want me to show you where it is. You’ll love them.

  5. capitana42 said,

    OMG those are beautiful. I’m so jealous you get to own one of those!!!!

    I can’t believe how cool they are. I’m excited to go back with Scott.

  6. Jessica said,

    Jenn, I’m working on a project and googled “Virtu Art Gallery” and your post came up. It helped a ton!!!

    Hope you are well

    Tell Nijat that I said hello. They do awesome work there and it is so inexpensive compared to the price of framing in the US. I love the oil paintings. Check them out!


Leave a Reply

