February 11, 2009

Rainy Days and Murder Always Get Me Down

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 9:45 pm by Jenn

It’s been raining for two days now.  Two soggy, dreary, windy Baku days. 

This morning I was enjoying General Hospital, watching a tender moment between Jason and Monica (and we all know those are rare) when the phone rang.  It was Scott telling me that the Crime Police were at the building just down the street and had the road blocked off doing some sort of investigation so that I should be careful when I went to the market today.  Umm, nothing I need from the market is so important that I’m walking through any Baku Crime Police scene.

Anyway, I looked out the window after General Hospital went off but I didn’t see any Crime Police.  I didn’t think anything of it until later in the day when Scott called back to say that the head of the Azerbaijan Air Force had been murdered just outside his home.  Apparently he lived pretty close to us, so what Scott saw  on his way to work this morning was the investigation in progress.  The murder occurred around 8:00 am this morning.  Lt. Gen. Rail Rzayev’s burial took place this afternoon.  It’s too bad it’s such a rainy day.  I hope whatever evidence was left behind at the crime scene isn’t washed away in all this rain.

This is the second murder near my home since we’ve lived here in Baku.  Do you remember me telling you about the guy that got stabbed just down the street?  I saw that guy, he’d been stabbed…thankfully I didn’t see this one.  It was a gun shot wound to the head.

Not a whole lot of information is available about the murder, but it did make the news on CNN.  Click here for the story.

3 Comments »

  1. Angie said,

    Oh how awful! It will be good when you’re out of that situation.

    Can’t wait!

  2. capitana42 said,

    Whoa… hang in there, Jenn!! Go snuggle up in some yarn and think happy thoughts!

    A yarn nap would be good!

  3. Jen D said,

    So when is the news of your next assignment coming…? Ugh Jenn.

    Not soon enough my friend.


Leave a Reply

