February 12, 2009

The Dead Guy

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 5:04 pm by Jenn

WOW!  I can’t believe I didn’t blog about this, but apparently I didn’t.  Yesterday I mentioned that a man was murdered near my apartment.  I also mentioned that this was the second murder in my neighborhood and thankfully I hadn’t seen this dead guy.  Yes, I did see the first dead guy, laid out, dead in the middle of the road.  Here’s the story.

I was taking a friend to pick up her new puppy – a pure bred white miniature poodle (there are three sizes – this is the middle sized one).  We were in the car leaving my apartment building and noticed that children and adults were running down the road in the direction that we were driving.  We wondered what was going on.  As we got further down the street we noticed an ambulance parked on one side of the road, people were gathered on the other side of the road, one woman was screaming and there kind of in the middle of the road was a man, laying there, blood all around him, kind of grey looking….obviously dead. 

I looked over at the ambulance and there were two guys sitting in the ambulance.  They were eating seeds.  I kid you not.  Eating seeds and spitting the shells out the window.  I was appalled.  The following conversation transpired between me and my driver.

Me:  Why aren’t those guys (ambulance guys) doing anything?
Driver:  He’s dead.
Me:  They could put a sheet over him so the kids don’t see.  To show him some respect.
Driver:  They probably don’t know him.

Umm, yeah.  So all the neighborhood kids were looking at the dead guy laying in the near middle of the road, the woman, who I’m assuming was his spouse was screaming and many other people were just standing there looking.  No one was kneeling by the man, trying to help him, no one made any attempt to cover him, the ambulance guys were eating their seeds like they were watching a movie.  I couldn’t believe it.  Now since I’ve lived here for a while this doesn’t surprise me.  It’s a shame that people here don’t have more respect for each other.

We continued on our way, picked up the puppy which is now 7 months old and named Gromm and came back to the apartment this took all of about 10-15 minutes at the most.  In that time, the police had come, the man was moved to the side of the road, and the crowd had dispersed.

I learned a few days later that apparently this was some sort of domestic issue gone bad.  I’m not sure about the specific details. 

As for yesterday’s incident there has been no real “new” news related to that. 

4 Comments »

  1. Otto Mann said,

    You should move, that’s scary.

    Things come in threes!

    Unfortunately, I’m stuck here a while longer. I’d prefer if a third didn’t happen in this case.

  2. Jen Hann said,

    Wow, what a crazy and dramatic way to demonstrate cultural differences! Hope things quiet down there.

    Sad but true Jen…the cultural difference are a bit shocking at times. Things are quiet normally.

  3. Angie said,

    That really is appalling. “They probably don’t know him”? Wha?

    Tell me about it. As if that should make a difference.

  4. Rents said,

    When I started learning folkloristics in university, it really surprised me, how different people´s minds can be – for instance we were shown the folklore of american ambulance workers. If I´d had to describe it with three words, they would be black, black and even more black. Later I saw it myself when my father started working in ambulance – they get so used with blood, yelling, crying etc, that it just doesn´t move them at all. And like our teacher told us, there are two kinds of people, the ones who learn to not care and can be good ambulance workers for 40 years, and the ones who never stop caring and will finish in hospital with mental issues. Death changes people.


Leave a Reply

