March 2, 2009

Walk-about

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 8:27 pm by Jenn

Today I got the urge to take a stroll.  A week or so ago I saw this big head statue of a guy that I had no idea who it was because there was no plaque.  This morning I was reading in the Azerbaijan tour book by Mark Elliott that this “head” is a bust of a famous Azerbaijani poet by the name of Vahid.  What’s fascinating about the bust is that in his hair there are carvings of scenes from his various works.  I saw the bust and took a picture of it, but I didn’t see the carvings….so I went in search.  You can see today’s photos in my album here.

I also decided that I wanted to visit one of the local yarn stalls and also try to find the No Limit shop that I’d been hearing about.  I did both of those things, even stopping to ask for directions to the No Limit shop, in Russian no less.  I’m getting pretty good at that.  Thing that that is amazing to me is that everything is “left”. 

I had a good walk, it was about two hours in total, and I was moving pretty much most of the time.  My right calf is killing me!  I think I zigged when I should have zagged or something along those lines.  Anyway, I can definitely tell that I did a bit of walking today.

In knitting news, the Crafters Guild is up to 7 members now.  We are still meeting on Tuesdays and the response for an evening group has prompted me to start an evening meeting as well.  We’ll give it a try with this Wednesday being the first meeting.  Hopefully lots of people come.  If not, I’ll have a quiet evening knitting by my lonesome, which I don’t mind at all.  I haven’t made much progress on the Welt and Rib Raglan this week.  I am at the last decrease and then I just knit in 5×1 rib til the thing measures 15 inches or something like that…stay tuned.

I’ve been surfing around on Ravelry a lot lately because I was procrastinating.  I had a paper due today, so of course I did what I always do and that is procrastinate.  In the process of procrastination I found a great project that is right up my current alley of fleece!  It’s a fleece study where you are sent 12 samples of fleece from different breeds of sheep.  12 samples weighing about 2 ounces each.  You wash them, spin them, dye them, do whatever you want with them.  Track your findings and record them in your notebook and share them with the other people who are participating in the study.  I think it’s a wonderful learning experiment and I’m glad I found it.  If you are interested check out the Beginning Spinners group on Ravelry and search for Fleece Study.

I’ve also decided that I’d like to learn Tunisian Crochet as well as Continental Knitting.  I bought a crochet hook today to practice, though it isn’t long enough, but it will get me started.  Next week I hope the group takes a field trip to the big knitting shop.  They are supposed to have the right hook there.  As for the new knitting method, well it’s faster and is supposed to be better on your hands/wrists….you know, to prevent carpel tunnel.  I don’t have any problems, but I think with all the knitting, spinning, fleece carding and lord only knows what else my mom and sister have planned for me when I’m home I better start thinking along those lines….oh, did I mention Sheep and Wool Festival?  It’s the first weekend in May and that should work out perfectly with when I’ll be home for a visit!  YAY for me.  My first Wool Festival.  I’m doing a fiber dance!

Speaking of fleece, here’s a little picture of the scenery around town today

dsc012701

This picture was taken about a block from my apartment at the park near the Narimonov Statue.  Just the local sheep out for an afternoon snack.  At least there is some grass for them to eat.

1 Comment »

  1. Jen D said,

    Local sheep out for a stroll…sure. Ah, just like home.

    I missed the perfect photo op today of the sheep out for a stroll on the sidewalk, in between the cars….unfortunately this is home.


Leave a Reply

