March 21, 2009

Back to Basics

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 10:13 am by Jenn

Today I was logging in to yahoo and the following headline caught my eye Obamas to Plant White House Vegetable Garden .  What a wonderful project.  Nothing tastes better than homegrown fruits and vegetables.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if something as simple as planting a garden starts a trend in America?  One where we become a nation that cares more about healthy food?  I’m curious… how many community and school garden projects will stem from this “White House Garden”.

I can’t wait to get back to the states and start my own garden.  I love flowers but I’m ready to branch out to herbs especially after living overseas and having access to fresh dill, and cilantro everyday.  Of course where there is cilantro there also needs to be tomatoes and peppers for fresh salsa….wow, I need to get something to eat, but not before I leave you with this

“The greatest gift of the garden is the restoration of the five senses.”  ~Hanna Rion

So, what will you be planting in your garden?

4 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    Dad and I just bought our seeds. We are downsizing this year though.

    What are you downsizing on?

  2. Eva said,

    Well, so far I have a box of baby lettuce going (almost time to snip a few leaves!), six heirloom tomato plants, a yellow pepper , and a Japanese eggplant–all in addition to the plum, lemon, orange, guava, and pomegranate trees (should finally get some poms this year). Pictures to come on the blog. . .one of these days.

    Sounds like you’ve got a pretty green thumb. Good luck with the pomegranates…they are soo yummy.

  3. Angie said,

    I’m with you, and this year I’ll be planting cilantro, chiles and tomatoes. I’ll also be planting basil and… wait for it… hops! Yes!

    The Obamas’ garden project is awesome and hopefully it will speed the current resurgence in gardening. People are more interested in locally grown food, and the recession may inspire some to garden as well.

  4. Jen D said,

    I am doing an herb garden- hopefully I will be more successful this year. I also want to grow the upside down tomatoes. I don’t have much room so that’s the perfect way for me to grow them. I tried carrots, cucumbers and squash last year.

    Don’t forget dill and cilantro….ah, and rosemary.


Leave a Reply

