April 1, 2009

Esto no es una broma – This is not a joke

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 6:07 pm by Jenn

I’m the kind of person that takes life seriously.  This is not a dress rehearsal, this is the real thing.  I’m a planner.  I’m a list maker, I’m Type A ok?

For the second time now, I’ve spent hours reviewing post choices, and making my list only to have the “answer” come back to be nothing from my list and not even in the regions that I want to live in.  I’m pretty fed up with Marine Corps and “their needs”.  The assignment is by no means as bad as the last one they tried to give us, but still, it’s disappointing to wait all this time and to have gone through all that we’ve gone through, not to get one of our top choices. 

So I won’t keep you waiting any longer, it seems at least from today’s news that I’ll soon be living in Santiago, Chile. 

Before the big let down of the day, I ventured out with Allison and MarieAnne.  We visited Martyr’s Alley (again for me), a first for Allison, and the first time in years for MarieAnne.  I really wanted to get a picture of this

dsc017591

the defaced, face of Lenin.  It’s really creepy, no eyes, just kind of looming there in this abandoned building in the Martyr’s Alley Park.  I’m not sure if this is a carving or what material it’s made out of.  The building hasn’t been used since the Kirov Park days I’m sure.  Though it’s obvious from the smell that it has become a public bathroom of sorts.

Today was an absolutely beautiful day in Baku weatherwise.  It was a great day to stroll through Martyr’s Alley.  I took a few pictures from the Eternal Flame, this being one of my favorites

dsc017501

a picture of the Caspian, through one of the stars of the Eternal Flame’s monument. 

I’ve taken so many pictures the past few weeks and am so behind on posting them.  I’ll get them up here soon I promise, but first “Un gran vaso de vino está llamando mi nombre” – a big glass of wine is calling my name and I’m making Beanie Weenie for dinner.  Beanie Weenie makes everything better.

4 Comments »

  1. Jen D said,

    Yet another continent to be explored by the Jenn. You will make it an experience to remember! You’re good that way;) So do you speak Spanish well or remember much of it? I was just looking at Wikipedia and it looks like it’s going to be fun for you. So what were your other choices, just curious.

  2. C said,

    I’m really sorry you didn’t get one of your top choices. On the bright side, Chile has really good steak and wine 🙂

    Yay! Meat! Yay! Wine.

  3. Emily said,

    Hey Jenn! Sorry to hear that Santiago wasn’t one of your top choices. Hopefully you’ll enjoy it once you get here! Despite the occasional blog rant, I promise it’s really a pretty good place to live, and C is right about the good (and cheap) wine 🙂

    Cheap and wine – two of my favorite words. I have those blog rants myself from time to time. It’s very refreshing and most of the time entertaining. : )

  4. peg said,

    Sorry that you didn’t get your top pick for locations – but I look forward to reading about your adventures in Chile!

    You know, as far as places we could have been sent – Chile isn’t so bad. I’m actually looking forward to it. I’m sure there will be many adventures there so stay tuned.


Leave a Reply

