April 5, 2009

Starvation Study

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 12:33 pm by Jenn

It’s days like today that I wish my grandmother were still alive so that I could ask her questions, pick her brain about what she remembers about a certain time period or subject.

This week’s lecture in my Advanced Nutrition class is on starvation.  It’s a subject that I’ve read, lots and lots about, but today I read more about the “Starvation Study” that took place in the US during WW II.  I find this study to be facscinating, and being a real geek I’ll probably read more of the actual research but for now this piece from American Radio Works gives some great background information on the topic.

Now for me, back to the lecture and note taking.

3 Comments »

  1. Mom said,

    I wish we had been able to talk her into recording her thoughts. I could use her on many occassions.

  2. Jen Hann said,

    What an interesting link, thanks for sharing it. There was a story on BBC World News one night last week, about a woman who was studying people who had been in utero during the Dutch winter famine of 1944. I couldnt find a link to the BBC story for you, but there are a lot of search results for the actual event, if you are interested.

    Thanks for the info Jen. I’ll have to check it out.

  3. Carey said,

    One of the speakers at NKF referenced that study. I don’t remember the stats, but just that the albumin results were much better than many we have on dialysis…

    That’s horrible.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

