April 17, 2009

National Gallery of I Don’t Think So

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 7:51 pm by Jenn

I’m in my final days now.  I have less than two weeks left in Baku and so many things left to do before I go.  Last week I knocked out the Carpet Museum, riding the Funicular and attempted a visit to the National Art Gallery.  I say attempted because we (me and Missy) actually went in, purchased tickets and then decided against the visit….why you ask?  Well, because they want you to check your coat, your purse and your camera….um, I don’t think so!  Why do they feel it’s necessary to take my coat everywhere I go?  I don’t want to take my coat off…I’m cold, thank you very much!  And really?  You want me to leave my purse with you?  Again, I don’t think so.  I am not going to leave my purse with my money, my identification, my credit cards, my cell phone and house keys at coat check in the United States of America – so don’t expect me to leave it in a country where the price I pay for pashminas depends on the mood of the salesman and the language I am speaking!  As for the camera…well that’s just ridiculous…we said we wouldn’t take pictures, the camera was packed away in the camera bag…they follow so close to you that you can practically smell their breath so what’s the big deal of wanting to keep an expensive item like a camera in our possession?  If it falls of the hook and breaks or someone steals it are they going to compensate us for the loss…NOPE!  So therefore, not leaving it….or any of the other stuff….just give us our money back!

The woman at the checking station was rather offended and the guard didn’t seem very happy either.  I understand they have a job to do, but at least if you are going to take someones valuables offer a locker area to keep them in at least….even the grocery store has that much – and I don’t leave my purse in the locker there either!

Hopefully my visit this week to the Palace in the Old City and the Modern Art Gallery will be better.

3 Comments »

  1. bummer that you didn’t get to actually see it! i can’t believe you’re so close to your move. glad to see you’re enjoying the rest of your time…

    can’t wait to hear about the palace!!

    I got Scott to agree to a visit to the palace so we’ll be visiting on Saturday! Pictures to follow.

  2. Angie said,

    Don’t you love those last few weeks in a city where you get to cross everything off a list, and finally you get to cross the city itself off a list? Good call on the art museum – that’s just insane!

  3. C said,

    WOAH!!

    Sure, here’s my U.S. passport and embassy ID, would you please watch those too. *insert rolling eyes*

    speechless, just speechless

    Oh, I wasn’t speechless believe me.


Leave a Reply

