April 23, 2009

Ready to go?

Posted in Journal at 4:30 pm by Jenn

A month ago when someone asked me when I was leaving Baku, the day didn’t seem like it could get here fast enough.  Now I’ve only got 3 full days left and I am feeling anxious…there are still things that I want to do.  There are people and routines that I am going to miss, but at the same time I’m ready to get on that plane and leave it all behind me.

I really have met some amazing people here and it will be sad to leave them behind.  One great thing about meeting all these people from all over the world is the anticipation of seeing them again someday and actually having real people from other parts of the world to stay in touch with.  This is something that people who live their whole life in one place don’t have a chance to experience.  Yes the goodbyes are difficult, yes they make you sad, but only for a little while.  Soon you move on to a new place, and make new friends and develop new routines and the friends you’ve made along the way are still right there, in email, in Christmas cards and sometimes in person, and that’s what you look forward to.

4 Comments »

  1. C said,

    I just got a huge lump in my throat thinking about the last time we had three days left in a country 😦 I hope you had a much better packing out experience this time and I can’t wait to hear about your adventures in Chile!

    Can’t wait to start my new adventures in Chile. Will definitely keep you in the loop.

  2. Jen D said,

    Wow Jenn! It’s happening!

    It’s happened!

  3. Heather said,

    Well, I’m ready to have you home, so fly, 3 days, fly!!! You’ll have to let me know when both you and Scott will be around – a co-worker is wondering if you’d like to participate in the career fair here at school – I think you guys qualify with interesting jobs that kids could/should aspire to!

    :O)

  4. wow! it seems impossible. hope you are able to make the best of these tree days!

    The time really did fly by.


Leave a Reply

