April 30, 2009

News from Baku

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 3:42 pm by Jenn

The phone rang at around 4 am today.  The phone ringing at that hour around my parents house used to be pretty common with both my father and I on-call for the local hospital that we both worked for…but that was years ago.  Now when the phone rings that that hour it usually isn’t very good news.

My mom came in to my room and told me Scott was on the phone….what could be wrong?  Scott informed me that there had been a shooting incident at the Baku Oil University, very near the Embassy.  He wanted to let me know so that when I heard about it on the news I wouldn’t worry.  He seemed to think it was an isolated incident.

Here’s a link to the story.

These senseless incidents seem to be happening more and more around the world.  It is such a shame that these troubled individuals aren’t able to find help and think that these acts of violence are the only way to solve their problems.

2 Comments »

  1. Jessica said,

    It has been a crazy day here. The oil academy is two blocks from my work and all morning I watched the ambulances and people stream over to the university. They are saying 12 dead now. It is just horrible.

    Events like this always make me so sad. SO senseless.

  2. C said,

    Yikes! That’s really scary.


Leave a Reply

