May 2, 2009

Getting my curves back!

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , , at 1:18 am by Jenn

Oprah does it again.  Yesterday I was watching Oprah and Kirstie Alley was the guest.  Now personally I think Kirstie is a train wreck, she just can never seem to “get it together” as far as I’m concerned.  As I was watching the piece about the gym in Kirstie’s house I recognized that the equipment was from Curves.

I had intended to rejoin Curves during my visit to the states when I found a two week free coupon in a magazine.  Of course I forgot the magazine in Baku.  When I went to the Curves website I found that they were conducting a Women’s Fitness Study and are offering 30 days for $30….sign me up!

Today I signed up to participate in the study and my mom will be signing up on Monday.  I really enjoyed working out at Curves when I lived in Maryland.  I would get up at 5:45am, be at Curves by 6:00am and back home in the shower and at work by 8:00 it was WONDERFUL and I looked and felt great!

When Scott and I moved to NC I transferred my membership to the Curves in Sneads Ferry, but the hours just didn’t work for me.  The center didn’t open til 8:00am and they closed at either 6 or 7pm.  That’s when I started to put the weight back on.  I like the Curves workout, it’s fast, it’s effective and it’s fun.  Better than any gym.  The women that surround you at Curves supportive and encouraging.  I love it!

So today I had my first of what I hope are many (I know for sure I’ll do the 30) Curves workouts during my visit to the US.  Best news of all is that there are Curves facilities in Chile too so I just may be able to whip my fat ass back in to shape once and for all!

When I stepped on the scale today I was SHOCKED!  I can’t believe how much weight I put on since we moved overseas, but of course I’m not too shocked because I pretty much did nothing but sit on my ass for the last 18 months.  Even though I was shocked by my weight and feeling a little down in the dumps about it, when my BMI measurement came up it was in the normal range – THANK GOD!  The Curves attendant actually remarked to me, “WOW, you are the first one that I’ve ever done that’s been normal!”.  Personally that made me feel great, professionally that made me feel ill.

So here’s my challenge to all of you women out there…if there is a Curves facility within 10 miles of your home I challenge you to join the Fitness Study.  Try it for 30 days and see what a difference 30 days of exercise makes to your body and the way you feel about yourself!  Let’s shed some fat and inches together!

Visit the Curves website to find a facility near you!

2 Comments »

  1. Angie said,

    I thought about joining Curves, but they’d need regular gym hours before I could do that. I work 8 hours a day and I commute an hour each way. I already wake up at 6 am to get to work on time and I don’t roll back into town until 6:30 or 7 most nights. No offense, but gyms that only keep bankers’ hours sort of piss me off – who are they trying to help? Certainly not working women.

    I joined a regular gym and have been enjoying it. It’s great for stress. I’m glad, though, that Curves works for you and that you’ll probably get to keep doing it in Chile! I hope your visit back to the States is everything you hope for. Make the most of it!

  2. Emily said,

    I was all excited to tell you that I’m sure I’ve seen a Curves somewhere in Santiago (please do not ask me where, I don’t know), and then I saw that you already know that. Ah well.

    Enjoy your time at home – how long until the big move?

    I’ll be in Chile by mid July! Maybe in time for Harry Potter!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

