May 4, 2009

Wooly Wooly

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 12:26 am by Jenn

Yesterday my sister and I went to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.  It was like a little slice of heaven.  It was actually very overwhelming and thankfully I told myself before I went that I would only spend the cash in my wallet and I would not use my my card for ANYTHING.

For my friends living overseas, WOW.  You all would cry (and be broke) if you saw the selection of yarn, fiber, notions, spinning wheels, needles, etc. that were available here.

The festival was held at the Howard County Fairgrounds which is a little over an hour from my parent’s house.  We arrived around 11am and headed straight for the fleece sale.  We had decided that we would buy a brown fleece and split it.  The selection was unbelievable….there were so many types of fleece to choose from – Merino, Border Leicester, Corridale, Cormo, Karakula, just to name a few (and those are the only ones I can remember right now).  Heather found one that she really liked – a grayish brown Merino weighing 7.75 pounds.  I saw one that I liked – a tri color, black, gray, brown Cormo weighing 6 pounds, and we were both intrigued by a small bag of Karakula – the hair was long with a slight curl at the ends and it was a tan/gray color.  We decided on the Merino because, well because you just can’t go wrong with Merino.

We took our new possession to the Zellinger tent, dropped it off to be processed into combed top for spinning and off we went to explore the vendors.

I’ll admit that I was totally overwhelmed just walking through the Main Exhibition tent and that wasn’t anywhere near all that there was to see – or to buy.

Of course my eyes were bigger than my wallet and my money went WAY faster than I anticipated.  I did manage to come home with $2 left in my wallet though…I won’t say how much I started with though : )

I need to take pictures of my purchases so I’ll post those in the next couple of days.  I just wanted to get this post up so that you all didn’t think I was MIA here in the US.

For all you fiber lovers out there stay tuned for that post because there will be some links to some fabulous yarns that I discovered during this festival!

5 Comments »

  1. Tara said,

    Can’t wait to see what you purchased- sounds unbelievably fun!

    It was a great time!

  2. Angie said,

    Fantastic! I can’t wait!

    Coming right up!

  3. Jessica said,

    Ah, yes, I’m jealous.

    I just finished my first project w/ the Nako Cashmere. A did a nice scarf and I put it up on Ravelry yesterday. Went through my stash and thought – wow – I’d really like to visit a REAL yarn store!

    Can’t wait to see the pics!

    I am posting pics today and catching up on blog reading. I’ll be sure to check out your Ravelry, I always love to see what you knit. You are so crafty.

  4. Christine said,

    Soooo jealous. I’m so over Regia.

    Be sure to check out the links in my upcoming post. I can hook you up if need be!

  5. Vicky said,

    Think this way, if you managed to come back with money left in your wallet, you are always a winner! I don’t know if I would have the same willpower 😀

    Good point Vicky!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

