June 15, 2009

Goodbye Thirties

Posted in Journal at 7:25 pm by Jenn

Today is my last day of being a thirty something!  Tomorrow at 7:36pm (and not one second before) I will officially become a member of the Fabulous Forties!  It’s hard to imagine myself as 40.  A few years, not so long ago 40 was OLD.  Now it doesn’t seem so bad.  Funny how that happens isn’t it?

I don’t have any really big plans for the big day.  I’ve requested Taco Salad for dinner and hopefully there will be a Carvel Ice Cream cake.  Other than that I don’t really need anything.

Scott got me a new camera….a Nikon CoolPix S220.  I would have preferred to have a camera with more zoom, but hey, I have a new camera!  It’s a funky purple color and super small and lightweight.  I used it yesterday for geocaching and it was simple to use.  Now, I just need to sit down and read the manual so that I don’t have the same “issues” with this one that I had with the last~!  I still have pictures on that stupid thing that I can’t get off!

I’ve also decided that I’m going to buy myself a spinning wheel in honor of turning 40.  My mom has graciously offered to contribute to the fund so that is much appreciated.  Now I just need to decide what to buy.  I’m still waiting to give Heather’s Hitchhiker a spin (pun intended)!  I’m leaning toward the Roadbug by the same maker.  It is identical to the Hitchhiker with the exception of the hand handle part….that doesn’t exist on the Roadbug.

Heather and I also signed up for a dye class this weekend with Karida of Neighborhood Fiber Co.  $120 for the class but we come home with knowledge and 4 skeins of yarn that we have dyed using our new smarts.   Last time I checked there was still a slot or two open in the class so if you are in the MD/DC/VA area and interested in participating, pop on over to Etsy and sign up!  It should be a fun day and a perfect way to wind down birthday week.

Of course,  no birthday week would be complete without CRABS!  I’m planning to meet some of my peeps down in Chesapeake Beach on Wednesday for ALL YOU CAN EAT at Abner’s!

So there you have it….goodbye thirties~

3 Comments »

  1. Annie said,

    I kissed my thirties goodbye in April, and have to say that 40 hasn’t been that bad. 41 – that’s the one I’m actually cringing over for some reason.

    On the spinning wheel front – I have several wheels. My Roadbug is my absolute favorite.

  2. jessica said,

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    And wow, am I jealous of you getting a night out with beer and maryland crabs. Oh how I miss Old Bay!

  3. Christine said,

    Happy Birthday, Jenn! I love that you’re celebrating with buying a wheel! Yay!!! Have you checked out the Kromski wheels? Those are the ones I am leaning to–there’s one or two that have both a single and double drive option on one wheel.

    Have a crab for me please!


Leave a Reply

