June 22, 2009

Swimming N Dye

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 6:41 pm by Jenn

Caution – Lots of pictures.

Saturday was a very eventful day and officially the end of birthday week.  After the accident on Wednesday, I definitely needed a little pick me up and Saturday (and Thursday night crabs with Michelle, Anne, Mike, Luke and Heather) did just that.

The day started off at Zachary’s first swim meet.  He was scheduled to swim in 3, 25 meter races (0ne length of the pool).  This baffled me because just two weeks earlier he had to be bribed to even jump in to the pool and I really doubted that he’d be able to do it.  I arrived at a little past 8:00am to find a large crowed gathered for the meet – Brandywine Wave vs Kingfish Swim Club.  Zachary was scheduled for race #11, #21 and #39.  They were on race 4 and with the gray sky it wasn’t looking too promising.  Then about race 6 the rain started, just a gentle rain but it was raining all the same.  I thought for sure they would stop the meet, but NOPE – no thunder, no lightening means RACE IS ON!  LOL.  So, there I stood with at least a hundred other people. in. the. rain. waiting. for my number to come up.

Finally, the time came…time for race 11, and you know what?  He did it.  He jumped in, swam the 25 meters (freestyle) and finished the race.  I couldn’t believe it.  I thought, “this can’t be the same kid that just 2 weeks ago wouldn’t jump in to the pool”, but it was – my nephew the swimmer!  And here’s a picture or two of the big day –

DSCN0077

This is Zachary competing in the 25 meter freestyle. This was his first official swim team race and he finished!

DSCN0081

This is Zachary finishing the 25 meter breaststroke.  Now he was disqualified in this race because he touched the bottom at some point during the race, but hey, he finished, which is more than I gave him credit for so I’m super proud and can’t wait to see another meet!  Way to go Zachary!

My sister and I left after this race to head off to a Dye Workshop that Karida of Neighborhood Fiber Co., was hosting at her studio.  We arrived late mostly due to getting lost a few times, but we arrived!  Just as we arrived the rain started coming down in BUCKETS!  It was unbelievable.  I can’t believe the amount of rain that we’ve had here since I’ve been home at the end of April.  If it keeps up we are going to need arks for transportation soon!

There were two other women participating in the workshop – Lina and Jo.  Both were super nice and created some really lovely yarn.  I was so impressed with everyone’s color choices and designs.  Here are a few pictures from the workshop

DSCN0082

This is one of Lina’s skeins, it reminded me of a cheetah – it was BEAUTIFUL!

DSCN0083

This is Jo painting up a skein of semi-solid.

DSCN0084

This is the board that we wound our yarn on to in preparation for dying in the self striping pattern.  Each sideways V makes a stripe.  The board is pretty neat, it’s made with hooks about 15″ apart or equal to one round of knitting on your needles and yarn (width) and 2″ apart (height), the hooks are also staggered by about 1″ from left to right.  Really creative and there is an online tutorial here

DSCN0087

This is Heather, painting up some self striping sock yarn.

DSCN0089

Some of the dye we used.

DSCN0093

A view of the stash in Karida’s studio!  It was quite a sight to behold – and quite dangerous for the wallet.

DSCN0112

These are Heather’s stripy sock yarn in brown and orange and her self striping yarn that came off of the board.

DSCN0113

This picture is sideways, but…the top yarn is 8oz of Supersock – Superwash Merino, dyed in brown and a tealish green with a splash of purple and a bit of white yarn peeking through….it’s mine and I plan to make some sort of shawl.

The middle skein is my semisolid – Watershed which is Merino 70% and Seacell 30%.  I used a navy blue and then applied a darker ink color blue over the top….I lurv it.  4oz and not sure what I plan to do with it….socks?  maybe.

The bottom skein is Heather’s – for a shawl – a great teal color blue/green with purple dots here and there throughout – I think she was trying to do a Creatively Dyed type look – and it worked!  It’s great….I might have to try this technique soon!

DSCN0114

And this is my self striping sock in the same Watershed blend as the semisolid blue – 4oz.

So there you have it.  We each had 12 ounces of yarn that we had dyed at the end of the session – plush whatever we wanted to buy from Karida’s stash!  I’ll save the stash pics for later because some of them were purchased with SP14 in mind!  Shhh.

2 Comments »

  1. sjsmart said,

    Great post. I see you ganking my pictures, though!!!

    :O)

  2. Alyona said,

    That looks really nice, the cheetah one is great


    This day was a lot of fun, it reminded me of our “Dye Party”.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

