July 28, 2009

BilVil – A Beaches Cafe

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , at 2:52 am by Jenn

This weekend I had the pleasure of dining at BilVil in North Beach, Maryland. I had the pleasure of working for Bil while I was in college.  First at Neptune’s and then at Vic’s Italia by the Bay.  He’s an awesome chef and a pretty good guy too.

BilVil opened when I was living in Belarus, but I watched the progress via pictures online.  I couldn’t wait to get home to pay him a visit.

I had taken a peak at BilVil’s menu online about a month ago and had been thinking about the Eggplant Parmigiana ever since.  I couldn’t wait to try it.  Local produce (some from his own edible garden) +  local ingredients + Bil Shockley cooking = far out flavor!

BilVil has a great atmosphere for lunch or dinner and you can dine inside or out.  We chose to dine in and were seated in what I’m going to call the sunroom.  A great room on the front of the restaurant with windows all around.

Our waitress was very polite and presented us with the menus, beer and wine lists and specials.  I decided on a glass of the house Pinot Grigio and an ice water to start, then I picked up the menu.

I’m going to have to go back at least 5 times to try everything that I want to try, but I just couldn’t get the Eggplant Parm out of my mind.  I had also decided on the Spinach with Onions, Mushrooms & Warm Bacon Dressing, but at the last minute changed my mind to the Tuna Carpaccio app.  I was not disappointed at all, in fact I was pleasantly surprised.  This was served on a bed of greens so I had my veggie after all.  The portion size was generous and definitely way more than I could eat on my own.  Michelle and I should have shared.

The entree came and all I could do was smile….it looked wonderful.  Eggplant Parmigiana with a side of pasta.  YUM.  From bite one til the last bite I was in heaven.  I absolutely LOVE Eggplant Parmigiana and NO ONE makes it quite like Bil.

We had already decided on ice cream for dessert at the Dairy Freeze up the street- however next time around I’m trying the Warm Fudge Cake at Bil’s….or the Carrot Cake….or BOTH!

So, that being said, if you are in North Beach and want a great meal cooked by a great guy (his wife Sandi ain’t bad either) stop by BilVil .  Tell him Jenn sent you.  You won’t be disappointed.

Oh, Basignani Winery’s Reisling – yeah, get a bottle!

And, just in case you don’t want to take my word for it, you can read a real newspaper review here, here, or here.

Congratulations Bil and Sandi on your success at BilVil!  I’ll be back.

2 Comments »

  1. […] BilVil – A Beaches Cafe « Learning to Walk in Stilettos By sjsmart This weekend I had the pleasure of dining at BilVil in North Beach, Maryland. I had the pleasure of working for Bil while I was in college. First at Neptune's and then at Vic's Italia by the Bay. He's an awesome chef and a pretty good … Learning to Walk in Stilettos – https://ltwis.wordpress.com/ […]

  2. C said,

    Yum! That sounds awesome.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

