August 3, 2009

An Olga Sunday

Posted in Journal tagged , at 8:34 pm by Jenn

Sunday was a very “Olga” day.  It started off with meeting friends that Scott and I met when we were posted in Belarus for lunch in Old Towne Alexandria.  This was the first time that I’ve seen Dave and Olga since I left Belarus and I was very happy to be able to meet up with them again.  We (Dave, Olga, Heather (sis) and I) met for lunch at Las Tapas in Old Towne (one of my favorite Spanish restaurants).  We had a nice lunch, a good chat and made plans to get together again this coming weekend.  I’m going to introduce them to Chesapeake Beach – maybe grab a bite to eat at BilVil….

Here’s a picture of us at lunch –

DSCN0405

After lunch I had planned to walk around the corner to Knit Happens to meet someone I’d been wanting to meet for almost 2 years….another Olga.

I met this Olga online on Ravelry.  I was in living in Belarus and  I didn’t know any knitting terms in Russian so I sought out help and lo and behold, Olga responded to my email.  What luck and what a coincidence to find someone from Belarus living so close to my home in Maryland.  I promised myself that I would meet her in person when I came back to the US and Sunday I did just that.

When I walked in to the store I recognized her right away.  She was organizing some yarn and stopped to greet us….she looked at me, then Heather (she recognized Heather from a previous meeting) then back at me and said….”Jenn”?  I said yes, she came over, we hugged and said how nice it was to finally meet in person.  I introduced her to Dave and Olga.  We all chatted for a few minutes then Dave and Olga left and Heather and I stayed and shopped around a bit. I  bought a cute project bag to replace the one I lost in DC a few weeks ago – that still ticks me off!

Olga is awesome, I’m hoping to get together with her before I leave for Chile.  She and her husband are heading to Japan soon which will be an amazing adventure for her, and I’m sure we’ll be seeing many awesome creations come out of her experience overseas.  Olga is a wonderful knitwear designer.  She’s in the process of publishing a book and I’m very excited for her!  I’m also planning to knit at least one of her designs in the very near future….I hope….The Trifecta Scarf.  This scarf is made from a yarn that I’ve not heard of before called Spud and Chloe.  They don’t carry it at Knit Happens, but they do have it at Fiber Space which was nearby so Heather and I made a quick trip over there to check it out and to check out the sample scarf they had on display.  The scarf is awesome and so was the Miss Babs roving that they had displayed….of course I couldn’t pass that up!

And as if I needed to find one more place to spend money – as we were walking to the car we happened upon Potomac Bead Company.  THEY HAVE CLASSES!  Note to self….if you want to save money – STAY OFF OF KING STREET!

So there you have it, an Olga filled, addiction filled Sunday!

2 Comments »

  1. C said,

    How fun! Please tell them hello for me.

  2. Jen DeVine said,

    Sounds like a great time!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

