August 23, 2009

Scales and Arpeggios

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , , at 4:46 am by Jenn

Yesterday Heather and I took a spinning class at Cloverhill Yarn Shop.  It was a small group, but it was well worth it and I learned a TON about my wheel and what it’s capable of.  I was really impressed with the yarn that I’m able to create.  I’m even more impressed that I was actually able to create a laceweight plied yarn!  YAY ME!  Finally!

Here is my pile of scrap/trash fiber at the end of the day

DSCN0498

My wheel has 4 ratios and here is are my scales and arpeggios using those ratios:

DSCN0501

From left to right using 64 micron Merino – the yellow is the 6:1 with brake and then no brake, the red is the 8:1 with brake and now brake, the blue is 11:1 with brake and no brake, the green is the 14:1 with brake and no brake and that white….wait for it –

that is also the 14:1 with no brake but the fiber is 80 micron vs 64 micron….what a difference the fiber makes!  All of these are 2 ply and yes folks, I can make lace weight yarn if I use the right ratio!  DUH!  I’ve been spinning on the 8:1 with brake so no wonder I wasn’t able to get the finished product that I wanted.  I’m so happy that I went to this spinning class.  Understanding what my wheel is capable of is probably the most useful information I’ve gotten in my 3 months of spinning.  Now I feel like I’m ready to tackle some actual spinning for projects!

Speaking of spinning….I plied some yarn last week and I have no idea what I did, but I somehow plied unevenly, so now I’m going to go back and add some extra twist to try to fix the uneven pieces….see

DSCN0495

Some of it is plied just fine,but other sections are just not good.  After I finish that task I am going to try spinning some of the fiber from the “bag of crap” that I received in the mail this week.

On Ravelry I belong to the Spin or Dye Swapping group.  Within this group is a “bag of crap” swap.  You claim a bag that has been offered and then offer to send a bag with a value of around $10.  The person who was supposed to send my crap, backed out so the crap angels came to my rescue and I received this wonderful crap from Vermont.

DSCN0502

The taupe colored fiber is Cormo/Alpaca, the white is East Freisien and the Dark Brown is Border Leicester/Alpaca.

Cande if you are out there I have your fiber ready to go…I just need your address : (

If you don’t send it soon, I’m afraid I won’t be able to control myself…spin spin spin : )

2 Comments »

  1. jeekeehoo said,

    Love your post! Thanks so much for taking the class:) Your spinning is beautiful!

  2. Alyona said,

    Nice yarn!!! Did you try to knit it or just enjoying spinning?


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

