September 10, 2009

2009 Summer Beach Bar Classic

Posted in Journal tagged , , at 1:04 am by Jenn

I’d like to start by saying that I THINK a good time was had by all, but I’m not entirely sure!  : )

We started off the event by decorating our T-shirts – so people would know that we were together and that something special was taking place of course.

DSCN0522

Michelle and Heahter aka Micellicious and Super Star.

DSCN0521

L – Train aka Luke

DSCN0523

JMack aka Yours Truly

These pictures are actually taken at the second hole so let me go back and give you hole 1.

DSCN0520

There we are, the golfers with our Orange Crushes at Mangos in Rosehaven.  This was my first taste of the Orange Crush, and I must say I really liked it.  Fresh squeezed OJ and LOTS of vodka.  Kind of a healthy version of a screwdriver if you will.

If you look on the bar in front of us you’ll notice our scorecards and the cute miniature mechanical pencils that I found.  We were well prepared for the event.  What wasn’t so well prepared were the rules and I take full responsibility for that.  I also had to apologize for my righteousness which was displayed when discussing the rules after I had started to consume alcohol.  Note to self and others….discuss the rules before the drinking portion of the game begins.

So we were off to the second hole – Thursday’s.  Blue Moon’s for the real players and a Coor’s Light for L-Train.DSCN0524

Next we headed next door to BilVil for the 3rd hole.  Bil and Sandy came out to say hi and offered up Hot Dogs at the turn for our next event!  Food is a great idea and we’ll hear more about food later.  Here we are, enjoying a brew on the deck at BilVil.

DSCN0525

My brew was a Backfin Pale Ale by a brewery in Fredneck.  I mean Fredrick, MD.  Good stuff.

Next off to Neptune’s where I decided that I was going to get something to eat.  It was probably 4:30-5pm by this point and all I’d had all day long other than the booze was a bowl of watermelon for breakfast and that just wasn’t cutting it.

DSCN0528

Neptunes where in front of us you’ll see the empty plate of zucchini straws which was split at least 3 ways.  That was dinner, which I knew then, and confirmed later in the evening was definitely not enough.  You’ll also notice that Luke looks a little shiny.  I could fix it with Photoshop, but I’m finished doing favors for that guy and you’ll see why later!

Beach Cove was next on the list – Hole 5.  This is where I had the “Neri Sighting”.  Now if you know anything about me and my beach history.  Neri Sightings are usually not a good thing.  This one proved to be uneventful thank goodness.  The best plan in case of a Neri sighting is one of three things 1.  RUN

2. Ignore

3. Limit exposure

For this sighting I chose to combine numbers 2 and 3.  Very effective.

DSCN0530

DSCN0531

The crew inside Beach Cove – their menu looks pretty good so we’re planning to return for dinner one night.

Hole 6 – Crooked I, formerly known as Chaney’s.  This was my first time at Crooked I.  I like it.  Anytime you can sit outside and view the water while you enjoy your beverage is a good thing.

DSCN0536

DSCN0535

Now this is where it really starts to get fuzzy….Hole 7 @ The Freaky Deaky Tiki

I’d like to point out that I am hammered by this point and all of my friends still look sober.  How is that possible?  I guess I’m just really out of practice.

DSCN0538

Hole 8 – Smokey Joes

DSCN0539

It appears that we have a 5th player now.  I think Billy joined us at Hole 5.  I also notice the shooter in front of me and Michelle and that could not have been a good thing, but I’m sure I made par at that hole!

Last but not least Trader’s – Hole 9

DSCN0543

I remember being here.  I remember running my lips to and with Patty, Ann and Katie (sorry guys), and I remember walking back to Michelle’s.  Everything else about it is a blur….I see Luke ditched his shirt at this point which should be an 8 stroke penalty for being out of dress code. AND I see that Heather is missing from the group photo which also should be some penalty, but we’ll have to talk about that when the board convenes later tonight over crabs!

So there you have it the 2009 Summer Beach Bar Classic.  Good time was had by all – at least the pictures make me think so.  I have no idea what my final score was or even if there was a winner but, according to a few of the pictures I’m was the LOSER!  Thanks Luke!  Arrrr.

3 Comments »

  1. Jen DeVine said,

    Oh Jenn I want to learn more about this event and your evening! LOL!

  2. Emily said,

    Can you please post the rules to this game?!

  3. C said,

    That looks like so much fun!


Leave a Reply

