January 28, 2010

The Waiting Game

Posted in Journal tagged , at 10:49 pm by Jenn

I had a nice message from Ruth today on Facebook saying that she was looking forward to my next blog post.  I know that I promised to be more faithful to my blog in the new year and I feel bad that I haven’t been.  I have been holding out for big news, but the big news isn’t coming.  I’m waiting on pins and needles waiting for Scott’s next assignment to be made official.   The news can’t come fast enough for me. 

I’m still living here at my parents, sleeping on the futon.  Yeah, I know I said the first thing I was going to do with my first “full time” paycheck was buy a new bed, but then I started thinking….what if we don’t get stationed here?  How will I get the bed to my new place?  I just couldn’t see spending the money. 

I am still working for DaVita and I’m getting in to the swing of things now that I’ve got “my own” unit.  It’s a big clinic with 135-140 patients.  There is A LOT to do, it’s a challenge day to day and I love it.  I love the job, but I’m having a bit of a hard time getting comfortable with one of my co-workers.  It’s proving more challenging to me then getting to know all those patients.  I definitely don’t like not being comfortable especially in a patient care setting.  I hope it’s just the “new girl jitters”  we’ll see.  There’s a chance I won’t be around too much longer anyway.  I hate playing the waiting game.

In other news, a new semester of school has started and I’m taking a pediatric nutrition course.  I haven’t had any real experience with peds since my internship other than a patient here and there when I worked at New Hanover and had to cover peds on the weekend.  I’m looking forward to the class and hoping that it isn’t too challenging.  I’m also seriously considering taking the certification exam to become a certified Renal Dietitian.  I’ve been wanting specialty certification for a few years and at this point renal seems the logical choice.  If I were in a clinical setting I would totally be going for the nutrition support certification.  I really miss the tube feeding patients and the teaching that was involved with them, but renal nutrition is satisfying as well and I see myself doing this forever.  I’m good at this.

The knitting and spinning are still going full force.  Not a lot in the works right now, but I have a sweater class starting this weekend and a spinning group meeting Friday night.  So as usual, it’s a fiber filled weekend.

So there you have it Ruth, a post…..maybe not all that exciting, but an update.  Sorry you couldn’t be around for the happy hour a few weeks ago, it was BIG FUN!

2 Comments »

  1. I loved your blog theme! Did you develop it yourself or is it downloadalbe from somehwere?

  2. Jen DeVine said,

    Thanks for the post! I am always checking to see what you are up to so this was fun:)

    I’m trying to get back in to the swing of things. It’s funny how once I start back to school I find plenty of time to blog….PROCRASTINTOR!


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

