February 5, 2010

Bread, Milk and….BACON?

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 10:25 pm by Jenn

It’s snowing in Maryland.  The storm of the century perhaps.  It started this morning around 10:35 am in Largo.  At least that’s when I saw the first flurry from my office window.  It really didn’t start coming down steady until about noon.  We were prepared to treat all 130 something patients at the facility today.  Needless to say it was a busy day.

We’d been expecting the snow all week, so today was no surprise.  Last night on the way home from worked I stopped by the local Amish market in Upper Marlboro.  I wanted to pick up beets, cabbage, ground pork and boneless chops to make cabbage rolls and borsch this weekend.  The market is usually pretty busy on the weekends so I wasn’t surprised when I pulled in last night and the parking lot was packed.  Everyone was getting their weekend shopping done early since we were expecting this snow.  I went to the meat counter and saw that they were “now serving”# 01.  There were lots of people standing around, waiting patiently.  I pulled my number…. 46.   WOW.  Well, I decided to get my veggies and then look around for a bit.  Certainly they’d be near my number when I returned.  WRONG.  #12.  I found a space next to two women and stood patiently…waiting….with the other 30 or so people.  I was near the ticket machine so it was fun to watch people check the “now serving number” then draw their ticket.  The look on their faces was priceless….they would ask the poor woman who chose to claim her “spot” next to the ticket machine….are they really on number 15?  Yep, she’d reply.  The women next to me were together and decided that they would place their orders together to save time.  One gave me her number, 32.  I was grateful.  She probably cut my wait by 30 minutes.  Now, normally I would have walked out.  No way I would wait in line for this long for ground pork and chops, but I knew the grocery stores would be packed and the lines would be long too….so I continued to wait. 

As I was waiting, I was being nosey of course and watching what people were purchasing.  BACON.  The poor Amish guy behind the counter went to the back no less than 4 times while I was there to replenish the stock.  I’ve never seen so much bacon being purchased.  Maple bacon, Canadian bacon, beef bacon, cured bacon, thick cut, thin cut, turkey bacon, pork bacon, you name it.  There were people waiting in this godforsaken line JUST TO BUY BACON!  It became a game to me and I would try to guess how much bacon and what kind the person was going to choose.  I never got the answer right, but I did pass the time.  Pretty soon they were calling my number and I was out the door with my pork chops, ground pork, beets and cabbage.  Oh, and no bacon.  Though I admit I was tempted.  I wonder how much longer the man next to me had to wait.  He was number 85, in line for Maple Turkey Bacon.  I kid you not.

1 Comment »

  1. Christine said,

    My great-grandparents were right–that scenario is exactly why everyone should have their own pig in their backyard.

    I miss the Amish markets!

    Hope you are doing well with all the snow, etc. Would have been great to see you in DC but it turns out we weren’t there for long and I had an appointment with the DMV (sort of like the market with the wait). Then Ken got food poisoning. Fun.

    I think I’ll stick to just buying bacon from time to time. Message me next time you are heading this direction. That food poisoning doesn’t sound like fun by the way. Neither does the DMV for that matter.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

