February 13, 2010

Grease is the WORD

Posted in Journal tagged , , , , , at 11:00 pm by Jenn

This afternoon my sister and I treated ourselves to an afternoon at the theater.  On stage…GREASE!  I’ve wanted to see this show on stage for years and wasn’t about to let this opportunity pass me by. Heather drove, I hate driving in DC.  I was the navigator which gave me plenty of time to look around and take a few pictures.  When I saw this guy only 4 words came to mind… “pants on the ground”. 

I’m sorry, I really couldn’t help myself.  We parked and walked the short walk to the theater.  As we were approaching we saw this

then this

I started to get giddy.  Seriously, I LOVED the movie, I know all the songs, all the lines, everything.  I was super excited to get inside and get seated.  I couldn’t wait for the show to start.   We only had a short wait and then the show was on. 

It was a little strange at first.  Not the Danny and Sandy I was used to, but once I let go of John Travolta and Olivia Newton John and let myself enjoy these two new performers I had a great time.  The scenes were a little different from the movie which I enjoyed, but the story was still the same.  You know…greaser meets goody two shoes.

Danny and Kenickie were awesome and all the Pink Ladies were terrific.  Frenchy was my favorite.  I actually thought Rizzo had a bigger part than Sandy.  Her character was really strong.  I think there was too much focus on her character and not enough on Danny and Sandy’s relationship. 

My favorite part of the show as definitely “Beauty School Drop Out”.  Taylor Hicks did a great job as Teen Angel and Frenchy was hilarious.  They even threw in a reference to American Idol which cracked me (and more than half the audience) up.  I did not take pictures during the performance – though I wanted to.  Here is a clip that I found on youtube that is pretty close to the performance that I saw today. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mujuz3FLFy8

Cheesey?  Yes.  Entertaining? Yes.  Would I see it again?  Yes.  Absolutely.  If you are a big fan of the movie like I am you will have to let go, but once you do you won’t be disappointed.  Afterall…”It’s Greased Lightnin”

2 Comments »

  1. juliegr said,

    Yes, Grease IS fun and Taylor Hicks as Teen Angel is an unexpected gem. I’m going to the play on Wednesday to enjoy the experience again and to see how Ace Young does in the role of “Danny”.

    There are some fantastic videos of Taylor Hicks’ performances on YouTube. I’ll share one of my favorites ~ “Woman’s Gotta Have it” from Workplay in Birmingham, AL. I was there and the song is unbelieveable.

  2. Ange Bleu said,

    Wish I could see it again. Would love to see Ace Young perform. Taylor, of course, is terrific.


Leave a Reply

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

My ADHD Adventures

The good, the bad and the distracted stories of my ADHD family.

Coffee with Maria Hass

Discussing faith, family, and fitness through Maria's confessions over cafe con leche...

Mommy Usage

Perfectly Imperfect. Always Working Toward Better.

From diapers and tutus to meetings and boardrooms

Trying to keep my sanity one blog post at a time

The Chatter Blog

Living: All Day Every Day: Then Chattering About It

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Matt on Not-WordPress

Stuff and things.

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

