March 1, 2010

Aftershock

Posted in Journal tagged , , , at 12:22 am by Jenn

They are still experiencing aftershocks in Chile, but they are trying to get things cleaned up and back to normal. 

Just a little glimpse in to just how awesome it is to be a part of an Embassy Community,each embassy has a CLO office (Community Liaison Office).   The CLO office is responsible for maintain morale at the Embassy (along with a TON of other stuff) and these folks really step up during these stressful times.  I can remember being the CLO in Belarus and even though our situation there was MUCH different that the one in Chile I feel for what these CLO’s are dealing with right now.  I also remember how awesome the CLO in Lithuania was in getting things ready for us when we were forced to leave Belarus.  She made us feel welcome and provided us all with many resources for making our stay as pleasant as possible.   Here is a little piece of a email that was sent out from the CLO in Chile to the Embassy Community this weekend. 

Dear all,

 We know that you are experiencing a lot of stress and anxiety right now.  Not having power/electricity is not helping the situation either.   We will open a  Community Center…(date, time and location removed).  ALL family members are welcome.  The kids can play with their friends while you talk to us and each other. Let us know how you are doing please!   Several computers will be set up for you to write back home and catch up on the news.  (Please bring some toys for children to play.)   The Commissary will be open to purchase snacks and drinks or you may wish to bring your own snacks.  You may choose to go to lunch–the restaurants on Isidora Goyenechea are open! 

If you have any food that needs to be refrigerated, you may use cafeteria’s refrigerators and freezers.   The showers are open for those who do not have hot water (please bring your toiletries).  Washing machines and dryers are here for you to use as well (please bring your own detergent).   If your residence has all amenities and you are willing to host Embassy families, please let CLO know. 

Judging from this I’d say folks at the Embassy are doing pretty well all things considered.  This helps to put my mind at ease a little more.  I’m still thankful that Max and I weren’t there, but I am also grateful that my husband has this type of support system available to him should he need it.

3 Comments »

  1. C said,

    Very glad to read this. It’s nice to hear that Scott has a support system there.

    You were an awesome CLO and I can’t thank you enough for all that you did for us in Belarus!!!


    That was an experience I”m not sure to forget anytime soon. I was such a fish out of water, and I really don’t feel like I did enough. Thank you for feeling that I did.

  2. Jen DeVine said,

    Glad to hear there is some peace in an otherwise chaotic and stressful situation (What an understatement!). I can’t even imagine.

    It’s been like and out of body experience Jen. Honestly, whose life is this?

  3. It’s Friday, and that means that the Third Weekly State Department Blog Roundup is up – and you’re on it!

    Here is the link:

    http://bit.ly/9hUsvA

    (If I quoted your text or used your photo(s) and you would rather I had not, please let me know. Please also be sure to check the link(s) that I put up to you, in order to verify that they work properly. If you would rather that I had not referenced you, and/or do not want me to reference you in the future, please also contact me.)

    Thanks!

    Thanks so much for letting me know and thanks for the mention.


Leave a Reply

