The Search is Over

You know, I just don’t know where the time goes.  It seems like it’s been a while since I’ve blogged, but it definitely doesn’t seem like it’s been over a month.  I have been pretty busy over the past month.  Most of my time has been spent surfing the internet, looking for a house to rent somewhere in Virginia halfway between Quantico, Va and Largo, MD.  That was the easy part.  There are a TON of places to rent.  The hard part was finding something in our price range in an area that we’d consider living, and in a house that we’d want to be in for 3 years.  That was no easy task.  I spent one weekend riding around near Occuquan.  The ride there from Upper Marlboro was LONG which told me right away that there was no way that I’d want to make that commute everyday.  I didn’t see much that I liked in the way of houses so I wasn’t heartbroken.  I decided to set my limits.  Nothing more than 30 miles from Largo, MD or the base for Scott.  That put us in the Alexandra/Springfield area.  Ok.  I can handle that commute.  I immediately thought about Kingstowne which was a neighborhood I was familiar with.  Unfortunately, that area was a bit out of our price range.  I checked the rental listings nearby and seriously spent two weekends driving by the outsides of places to determine if I even wanted to walk inside.  I found a great agent to help me with that part – Jennifer Rivera from Move For Free Realty.  She was one of the only agents that I could get to help me with my rental search so I want to give her a huge KUDOS for showing me around the insides of some of these places.  She does rentals and sales and she’s an awesome lady so if you are in the market in this area, give her a call.  I looked at 6 properties that day with Jennifer and I realized that in order to be in the type of house I wanted I was going to have to come up on my maximum price.  The following day I looked at two properties that I found on Militarbyowner.com and thankfully my search was over. 

My mom went with me to look at the two properties.  I knew after visiting the first house that it was the perfect place for Scott and I to live.  It was in Kingstowne – just a little over what I originally said my “max” price was and it’s only 23.1 miles from Largo, and about the same to Quantico for Scott.  PERFECT!

So we signed a lease and we can move in starting May 28th.  I’m excited.  I haven’t seen some of my things for 3 years and most of my personal things for almost a year now.  It will be nice to have a place to go home to where I’m surrounded by my own things and best of all where I have the sweet sound of silence.  Ah, now that’s what I’m looking forward to.  Scott comes home in the middle of June.  Hopefully most of our household stuff will have arrived by then and I can have the house set up for the most part. 

Max will have a nice little fenced in yard, we have a nice deck off of the kitchen and best of all – a doggie door in the basement.  Max can come and go and do as he pleases, when he pleases.  That was the selling feature of course!

I have more to update on, and will do that later.  As for now, my search is over and it’s time for Desperate Housewives!

Published by Jenn

Registered Dietitian with an interest in integrative nutrition, functional food and holistic healing.

3 thoughts on “The Search is Over

  1. I’m so glad your life is about to change so much for the better, Jenn! As you know, I was gettign worried that something had happened 🙂 Hug.

    Thanks Carola. It’s nice to know you are out there thinking about me!

  2. Gettin it done! Wow Jenn, you are quite the woman! So happy for you 🙂

    I’d be happier if you came to visit me when I move in!

Leave a comment

Sunkissed Wellness

Because wellness isn't a destination it's a journey.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Alaska Exploring Studies

While also exploring faith, family, and fitness as Maria enjoys her coffee...

Mommy Usage

"She Believed She Could So She Did"

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.