January 20th

If I were in the United States, I’d undoubtedly be attending the Inaguration of Barack Obama today.  I’m not in the United States however, I’m in Azerbaijan where January 20th holds a different meaning.  In Azerbaijan, January 20th is a National Day of Mourning. 

When I first heard this, I thought that it must be a day when loved ones are remembered.  In a round about sort of way I guess it is.  In Azerbaijan, January 20th is a day to reflect upon the tragedy that occured in this country on January 19th and 20th, 1990.  It’s called “Black January“.

There’s a memorial cemetery here in Baku called Martyr’s Alley.  I’ve not been, but I’ve heard many stories about it.  I know that many people will visit Martyr’s Alley today.  I can’t even begin to imagine what I will see when I visit Martyr’s Alley, hopefully later this week.  Though I’ve seen pictures, I imagine that in person it will leave a great impression on me.

Tonight, at 9pm Baku time, 12 noon EST I will be watching Barack Obama take the oath and become our next President of the United States, another event that will leave a lasting impression on me.  I’m so proud of Americans for making this choice for our future.  In just a few short hours we’ll be seeing the first glimpses of that future.

Published by Jenn

Registered Dietitian with an interest in integrative nutrition, functional food and holistic healing.

12 thoughts on “January 20th

  1. It is a very historic day (an very historic? – it never sounds right). We, however, are not going out in the cold to witness it. We did our part by voting for change, now we’ll watch from the warm living room – that part can go on without us!!

    :O)

    A historic, and I don’t blame you for wanting to be warm. It’s cold there lately!

  2. This is from Mom to both of you. It’s AN HISTORIC and a very historic.

    Sorry Mom but I have to disagree with you on this one. Since HISTORIC doesn’t have an unsounded H it follows the rule that you use the word “a” with words that start with consonants and the word “an” with words that start with vowels and words that start with a silent/unsounded H like honorable.

    And yes it was a very historic day, no matter what!

  3. Классно всё: и картинка ,и информация

    Translation: Cool pictures and information.
    Thank you!

  4. А Вы не задумывались о том, чтобы параллельно завести еще один блог, на смежную тему? У Вас неплохо получается

  5. Я бы сказала о монументальности, грандиозности некоторых сюжетов. А назвала бы – “нефильтрованный реал”. На мой взгляд, красота – это все-таки другое: лучшее, чистое, избранное, заставляющее трепетать и поражаться. Можно найти красоту во всем, но всё скопом – не есть красота. Имхо.

  6. Прочитал, конечно, далеко от моей темы. Но, все же, можно с вами сотрудничать. Как вы сами относитесь к доверительному управлению?

Leave a comment

Sunkissed Wellness

Because wellness isn't a destination it's a journey.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Alaska Exploring Studies

While also exploring faith, family, and fitness as Maria enjoys her coffee...

Mommy Usage

"She Believed She Could So She Did"

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.