Novruz (New Day)

Novruz, pronounced Nov-ruz is the most popular holiday celebrated in Azerbaijan.  The holiday was prohibited for 70 years during Soviet times.  Novruz is observed on the first day of Spring, though celebrations begin four weeks before.  The four Tuesdays before Novruz are devoted to one of the earth elements – water, fire, earth and wind. 

On the last Tuesday – Wind Tuesday people light bonfires and jump over them.  It is believed that doing this is an act of purification.  Unfortunately, I didn’t capture any pictures of these bonfires because I’m a day behind in my brain and I thought today was Tuesday, which is the whole reason for this Novruz post, which I’d intended to name Windy Tuesday, but St. Patrick’s Day through me a curve…so sorry.  I’m sure there will still be bonfire photo ops as this seems to be a Noruz favorite.

One tradition that I’m anxious to witness is the holiday table (because we all know I love food).  The table is set with a white cloth to represent purity and the table must have seven items beginning with the letter “s”…

Sumaq (sumac) – for the color of the sun at sunrise

Sumani (wheat sprouts) – sweetness, fertility, having many children

Sikke (coins) – good luck

Su (water) – purity, rebirth and health

Sabzi (vegetable) – purity and good fortune

Sud (milk) – health and natural beauty

Sarikok  (yellow ginger) – sweetness in life

Another tradition which I find interesting is “papag atdi”, meaning hat throwing…this is similar to the American tradition of “trick or treat”.  Children visit their neighbors and leavetheir caps or a basket on the door step.  The children, knock then hide to see if they will be receive candy, nuts or treats.  We didn’t receive any papag atdiers last night and from my understanding this tradition is also supposed to occur on Wind Tuesday….bummer.  That would have been kind of fun although I honestly don’t know what I would have given out as treats…

There are many other traditions celebrated with Novruz including not locking doors.  On the first day of the NewYear houses are lit all night long because switching off lights is considered bad luck.  Novruz is also a time for renewing friendships.

Tomorrow the Embassy will be having a Novruz event (including bonfire) so I’ll be sure to take a picture or two of some of the traditional items.  Til then I leave you with this picture

  dsc01384

This is a vendor selling the sprouted wheat grass.  These are hot items right now.  Every Azeri home is guaranteed to have at least one so why not make the most of it.

Lastly, this has nothing to do with Novruz, but here’s a picture of Missy “the I”ve just been knitting for 3 weeks and I already have 4 projects cast on knitter” sporting her first finished object – a garter stitch scarf made with a gifted skein of Lion Brand Homespun.  You go girl!

dsc01385

Published by Jenn

Registered Dietitian with an interest in integrative nutrition, functional food and holistic healing.

5 thoughts on “Novruz (New Day)

  1. Just think how much fun the cats would have eating all that grass!!!!

    I thought about buying one for Max. If there are any left I will buy him one this week.

  2. Sounds fun! Looking forward to pictures!

    The pictures turned out great! I’ll post a few of my favorites soon. The others will be in my facebook album.

  3. WOW! I love that picture of the grass on the lada. Great shot!

    We are working on a “Loaded Lada” collection of our very own. That was shot #2 for the collection.

Leave a comment

Sunkissed Wellness

Because wellness isn't a destination it's a journey.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Alaska Exploring Studies

While also exploring faith, family, and fitness as Maria enjoys her coffee...

Mommy Usage

"She Believed She Could So She Did"

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.