Farida’s Mushroom Appetizer with Twisted Chicken to follow

A few months ago while surfing the net for a recipe for borsch, I came across a website called Farida’s Azerbaijani Cookbook.  I was immediately curious and found several dishes that I wanted to try.  I emailed the blog’s author, Farida asking if she had a recipe for borsch.  Low and behold she did and she emailed it to me a few days ago.  I’ll be making it tomorrow.

Tonight however, I treated my tastebuds to another of Farida’s recipes – Mushrooms Stuffed with Eggplant, Walnuts and Fresh Herbs.  In one word – FABULOUS!  If you want a super quick, tasty appetizer, do yourself a favor and give these a try.  I made the following modifications – I used 1/2 the recipe since it was only me and Scott, I added one clove of minced garlic to the mixture in the frying pan and I added about 1/4 cup of shredded cheese prior to stuffing.  Another word – YUMMO!  Scott wolfed down 8 of them in no time and I managed to polish off 4 with no problem and could have eaten more.  Thankfully I wanted Andy to try them so I didn’t eat the 5th one….yet!  Andy better get over here in the next hour though otherwise I can’t be responsible for my actions.

dsc01728

The main course is still in the oven and due to come out in about 15 minutes.  This is a newbie for me….I’m calling it Twisted Chicken.  It’s a variation of Andy’s Greek Chicken from 2 weekends ago.  Basically, it’s a baked chicken and oven roasted vegetables.  I stuffed the chicken with a few cloves of garlic, some fresh dill and a boiled lemon….yep, that’s right, boiled lemon.  I learned that from Andy, and it gives the chicken just a hint of lemon flavor.  I par boiled the potatoes and the lemon and garlic cloves then stuffed the chicken and added the potatoes and some fresh carrots around the chicken in the roasting pan.  End result is a great tasting bird and veggies.  Thanks Andy for the lemon idea, this will be a frequent meal in the Smart household….Twisted Chicken.

And I’ll leave you with this cute picture of Max sleeping.  It’s hard to believe he’s comfortable, and he LOVES to sleep on top of his kennel because that’s where the sunshine is!  The dog moves from spot to spot throughout the day, following the sun.

dsc01727

Published by Jenn

Registered Dietitian with an interest in integrative nutrition, functional food and holistic healing.

10 thoughts on “Farida’s Mushroom Appetizer with Twisted Chicken to follow

  1. Jenn, it is great that you got to make stuffed mushrooms. Thank you for using my recipe. Glad it turned out great!

    Thank you for the recipe Farida! It was wonderful.

  2. I love the recipes! I eat stuffed mushrooms frequently-usually basil, mozarella and diced tomato stuffed mushrooms(w/garlic and salt/pepper). This looks fabulous and I will try them. Your dog…so cute. What a personality:)

  3. ::waves to Max::

    Guinness and Bella are constantly being “caught” on the windowsill in the kitchen, as that is where the sun comes in. Silly pets 🙂

    Dinner sounds really good!

    That dinner, was yummy.

  4. What the hell happened to that dog’s hair???? I hope you knit him a coat!

    :O)

    He still has plenty of hair, trust me. He doesn’t have a homemade coat, but his has a down one that matches mine! : )

  5. Those mushrooms look ahhhmazing. I am definitely going to try those sometime this week. And thanks for the link to the cookbook. Great to have recipes that include ingredients you can actually buy here!

    You’ll love them, I’m sure.

  6. Currently it sounds like WordPress is the top blogging platform available right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re using on your blog?

Leave a comment

Sunkissed Wellness

Because wellness isn't a destination it's a journey.

Life On The B Side

Taking all that life throws at us one moment at a time

Alaska Exploring Studies

While also exploring faith, family, and fitness as Maria enjoys her coffee...

Mommy Usage

"She Believed She Could So She Did"

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Really?? Yes. Really.

You may ask yourself, where does that highway lead to...?

Flying Ready

An American expat moves to the south of France.

Wineymomma and the monsters

Momma's journal of all things monster

Knits-N-Things

A mom blogging about her life taking care of her T1D son, knitting, and other random things!

Learning to Walk in Stilettos

It is what it is...dysfunction at its finest.

Thirty Voices

Voices from women in their thirties from around the world!

Knitting bag

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.